Potato Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2000
I have never liked potato soup, but I must say this variety is wonderful. My husband and I like to add a few different things to it sometimes, but it's great even if you leave it alone, although a little worcestershire sauce is good in it. We love to fix the Portuguese Fried Bread recipe that we found on this site. Nothing is better on a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
This has got to be the best potato soup I've ever had. Even my granddaughter liked it and she hates everything. Thick and full flavored, it won't let you down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
I made some changes, I also added a clove of garlic, chopped celery and helped the flavor along with chicken b. cubes. added a bay leaf and chopped parsley. Excellent. I served it with grated Guyrere cheese and chopped green onion... Definitely excellent. I omitted the potato flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRUDY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Great soup recipe but I omitted the corn and potato flakes. The soup thickens the next day and is even better than the first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mansfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I don't care much for soups but even I like this one. Instead of milk I used heavy whipping cream and left out the potatoe flakes. I didn't have any bacon but even without it the soup was heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Very good...and to make it even quicker you can use 2 cans of sliced potatoes. Next time a may try a little less potato flakes. It was a hit with the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This is the best potato soup ever. My wife said it's the best she's had too. Better than my mom makes. It has a sweet taste I've never experienced in a soup before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Silver Lake, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pierceton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
My husband, oldest daughter and I all enjoy this recipe. We do not add the corn but the rest of the recipe is perfect for our taste. This is the only potato soup I will make from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Attica, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mount Blanchard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
It is freezing here in Colorado and this sounded great. Had to cut the recipe in half due to lack of potatoes. It came out fabulous. Was short onion but strangely I had green onion and that worked well. Don't like corn in soup so omitted. Kids, picky teens, loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lovísa Jernsletten
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
It was great. Although I did decide to skip the potato flakes because I simply didn't have any. I also fried a third of the bacon for garnish, as well as add chives right before serving for the same reason. We used the corn and were not disappointed. Will definitely make again! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovísa Jernsletten

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akureyri, Norðurland Eystra, Iceland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States