Potato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Love this so much that I could have eaten the entire pot myself! I modified it by reducing the milk to 3 cups, added some veggie broth, a tablespoon of chicken base, celery and a 1 inch chunk of Velveeta. It was one of the best potato soups I've ever eaten. Serve with some crunchy toasted bread such as Italian or French.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snackcakes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Solsberry, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Good recipe for comfort food on a cold evening. Like many have said, it is a tad too watery. I drained a portion of the water off after the potatoes cooked and doubled the flakes. Great flavor without using chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anchovy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pataskala, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bexley, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Delicious! I made potato soup for the first time by request, and it was SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Pretty good...I never put carrots in a potato soup, I usually use chopped celery, but I put in the carrot and it was all right! I didn't use the tablespoon of bacon drippings, either...I gave the potatoes a head start in the bacon grease, so it wasn't necessary to add the fat into the soup. I also added a couple cloves of chopped garlic because potatoes and garlic do magical things when cooked together. This was a pretty recipe, thanks for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I made this recipe and it turned out really great! The only complaint I had was that it was very runny. I ended up adding about a cup of flour and the entire package of dry potato flakes. I also added corn and about 15 min before I took it off the stove I added pre packaged biscuit dough to the soup (cut into quarters) This added a nice heartiness to the soup and made it more of a thicker consistency. You will need to add salt and pepper and other spices though, as it is kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Excellent! I cooked the potatoes with fresh minced garlic. Couldn't really taste it so at the end I added garlic salt and it made a huge difference. My 10 year old daughter couldn't stop tasting it! She said it sounded gross, but tasted awesome! A previous post stated that she thought you should drain the water from the potatoes, but the directions didn't say to. That is because you should NOT drain it. I added more instant potatoes than called for. I will definately make this again, especially in winter months!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by curttori

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This soup recipe is excellent with some minor alterations. I add more potato flakes to make it thicker and add browned pork sausage to make it more hardier. My husband loves it. And I recommend it to all my friends/co-workers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Realy good but I thought it was missing something so I added some chicken bouion to it and some flour I put th flour in a jar with a tight fitting lid and added some flour and a little bit of water to make a "paste" ) to help thicken it up and it was great it went so fast. We will make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
This was okay, but nothing to write home about, so I made a couple of changes: cooked the onion in a little bacon grease to carmelize a little and bump up the flavor a little, and when I served it, I sprinkled shredded cheddar and more crumbled bacon on top, then a small dollop of sour cream in the center. Gave it a sort of "potato wedges" flavor and more depth. It needed it. Gave it like this to husband for lunch. He said it was fine, but when asked, he would have prefered a corn chowder or something like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
MMMMMMMMMMMM Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRASH5456

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiarton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States