Potato Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Fantastic recipe! My husband and I loved it and I will definitely be adding this one to my list of favorite breakfasts. It's the ultimate comfort food! The only thing I did differently was I scrambled the eggs separately and mixed them in at the end...so very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Elizabeth City, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Great recipe! I eliminated the spices except pepper, precooked potatoes, and finished cooking the dish in the oven. I topped it with bacon and cheese after I added the eggs to the potatoes. It was so easy and the leftovers will be great tomorrow. Next time I will add a few more eggs since I had a lot more potatoes this time but it was still perfect. A piece of this is easy to eat when walking out the door. It's a great fast food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
I normally scale this to serve 6 and add some milk (1/4 cup) to the battered egg mix to make it fluffier. As others have stated, I have also used sausage, chopped green bell peppers or a jar of drained diced pimentos. If I'm REALLY lazy but my family is begging for some breakfast, I'll used a package of frozen hashbrowns instead and add the eggs once the hasbrowns are done and when the eggs are almost done, I'll add the bacon or sausage, and other veggies then. If you flip carefully (for even cooking), you can practically cut out pizza-like slices right from your pan to serve. A different spin to an omlette! Thanks LaDonna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
This was really good and so simple to do. I was looking for a frittata recipe when I found this. Great flavor and was an easy meal in one. I liked that it only dirtied 1 skillet. I put the diced potatoes in the microwave for a couple of minutes to partially cook them while the bacon was cooking to reduce cook time on the stovetop. My guys both said although they liked this, they preferred all their stuff separate (hash browns, scrambled eggs with cheese, and bacon). I loved this just as it is though and would have given this 5 stars b/c I'm a southern gal and this is down home southern cookin' for sure! I only had to make one change and that was to add a smidge of minced garlic and a pinch of kosher salt instead of the garlic salt. I only used enough bacon grease to coat the potatoes heavily and not all that was reserved. I did add 1 more potato, 2 slices bacon, and 2 more eggs to feed 3 of us. It made enough for 4. Thanks LaDonna for a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
Yum, yum, yummy! This is an easy one pot meal that is really delicious. I added onion and green chilies--mmmmmm! My whole family loved this, even my picky son who only eats cereal and pancakes!! Leftovers reheated were also good--will definitly be making this more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This is my husbands most loved breakfast!Its a good breakfast when you need to feed alot of people in the morring because everybody loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by walks_softly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2000
Easy and quick. I used seasoned garlic powder inplace of seasoned salt. Salty enough from bacon. Also good with link sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
My fiance and I really liked this. I didn't realize it was a brunch recipe until I printed it out so I just made the bacon and potatoes (added a vidalia onion) and used it as a side with marinated pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, New York, USA
Living In: Hilton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Very good. I used chorizo instead of bacon cause that is what i had on hand. Definitely a keeper that the whole family enjoyed. 2009 UPDATE: I prefer it with bacon. I fry the potatoes on lower heat for a longer period because i like them crispy...my whole family still loves this. To make it easier, i buy the Oscar Meyer real bacon packets on the salad dressing isle and top it with those. I also spice it up with some cajun/blackened seasoning. A really good recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMDAILEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
very tasty, would definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amy833

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Roasted Potato and Sausage Quiche

A super-simple holiday brunch is ready in no time.

Potato and Chorizo Mini Quiches

See how to make bite-size party quiches with potato and chorizo sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States