Potato Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
Replaced garlic salt w/garlic powder. The lid melting the cheese also softened the crisp crumbled bacon. Next time I will add the crisp bacon after the cheese has been melted and the lid has been removed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
235 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
I normally scale this to serve 6 and add some milk (1/4 cup) to the battered egg mix to make it fluffier. As others have stated, I have also used sausage, chopped green bell peppers or a jar of drained diced pimentos. If I'm REALLY lazy but my family is begging for some breakfast, I'll used a package of frozen hashbrowns instead and add the eggs once the hasbrowns are done and when the eggs are almost done, I'll add the bacon or sausage, and other veggies then. If you flip carefully (for even cooking), you can practically cut out pizza-like slices right from your pan to serve. A different spin to an omlette! Thanks LaDonna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
Yum, yum, yummy! This is an easy one pot meal that is really delicious. I added onion and green chilies--mmmmmm! My whole family loved this, even my picky son who only eats cereal and pancakes!! Leftovers reheated were also good--will definitly be making this more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
This was really good and so simple to do. I was looking for a frittata recipe when I found this. Great flavor and was an easy meal in one. I liked that it only dirtied 1 skillet. I put the diced potatoes in the microwave for a couple of minutes to partially cook them while the bacon was cooking to reduce cook time on the stovetop. My guys both said although they liked this, they preferred all their stuff separate (hash browns, scrambled eggs with cheese, and bacon). I loved this just as it is though and would have given this 5 stars b/c I'm a southern gal and this is down home southern cookin' for sure! I only had to make one change and that was to add a smidge of minced garlic and a pinch of kosher salt instead of the garlic salt. I only used enough bacon grease to coat the potatoes heavily and not all that was reserved. I did add 1 more potato, 2 slices bacon, and 2 more eggs to feed 3 of us. It made enough for 4. Thanks LaDonna for a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This was a great basic recipe. Like others, I added a few touches of my own with onions and playing around with the seasonings a bit. For those previous reviews that commented negatively about how lame this site is and how the recipes suck...don't use the site! If you don't like what it offers, go elsewhere rather than bagging on people's recipes- cooking requires tweaking to coincide with your own personal preference for taste. Thank you for the idea, LaDonna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nochoa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
Pretty delicious. I gave this 4 stars because I had to add quite a few more spices for flavor. I doubled the recipe and found that the 1/4 tsp of salt & pepper did hardly anything for the skillet. I also omitted the bacon (didn't have any on hand and I'm a vegetarian). I used rosemary olive oil to fry up the potatoes instead of the bacon grease. It made my house smell great! I served it with english muffins. It was an overall very yummy and satisfying dish. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I apologize to the writer of this recipe and all the others who tried it and liked it. I agree with unter der lanterne, I was rude and I am sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Added some green pepper, sweet onion, (extra bacon) and wow. This is good good stuff. We used Yukon Gold potatoes to give it a buttery delicious flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Grew up on this breakfast!! These days I add chopped onion (1/2) and occassionally some chopped green and red pepper. Browned sausage is a good addition too. the combos are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I used vegetarian bacon and had to add extra spices to make up for the lack of flavor. Also added mushrooms and onions, which I cooked separately and added at the end. Great food to feed a hungover husband on a Sunday morning! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ceeleigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Bacon and Potato Frittata with Greens

See how to make a simple breakfast frittata with bacon, potatoes, and chard.

Potato and Chorizo Mini Quiches

See how to make bite-size party quiches with potato and chorizo sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States