Potato Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
My family has a tradition of making this most every morning after Sunday mass with whatever is in the kitchen. We start by browning bacon or pork sausage in a large cast iron skillet (also great with ham), then remove the meat and throw in an onion, red and green bell peppers (jalapeno if it's on hand, sometimes mushrooms) and potatoes. Usually seasoned with garlic and salt and pepper, sometimes some italian seasonings. Once that's all cooked up, add the eggs. When the eggs are nearly cooked, we throw in some cubed cheese (pepper jack is my favorite) and let it melt. Best served immediately with a side of toast and OJ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
This was really good. Had to substitute spicey sausage for the bacon as its hard to get hold of here in Turkey and expensive. Might play around with it in future and add some onion or green peppers. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zeytin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I needed somethig new for our office xmas breaskfast, I cant tell you how good this was. My office loved and i had to share the recipe. Mind you i added onions and green peppers a little more seasonigs and it was delicious!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I wanted this to be meatless so I left the bacon out and added chopped onion, green pepper and mushrooms. My potatoes were very small so I used 3. In the pic this is topped with habanero hot sauce. Great hearty breakfast even without the meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I made some minor adjustments to the seasonings. I used a pinch each of sea salt and garlic powder and lots of black pepper. Followed other reviewers advice to add the bacon after the cheese had melted. Served with some fried tomatoes. Thankyou LaDonna, my husband thoroughly enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Delicious! The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This dish rocks! I peeled two potatoes and diced them, as directed. I also put foil over the skillet to melt the cheese and it did not take long to melt. I also used thick cut bacon. Yum o licious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocean City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Galloway Township, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
O M GOODNESS This was by far and away the best dish I have ever tasted and it was sooo easy!!! It is a definate keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Breakfast is my favorite meal and this one fills the bill. Thanks for the tip on letting the cheese melt first to make certain the bacon remains as crispy as possible. That helped. I am now excited about trying it as filling for a homemade breakfast burrito. Though I used a non-stick skillet, it does stick to the bottom. I will add a few more vegetables like mushrooms, green peppers and cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
It may have been my mistake to use thick sliced bacon, but my partner and both thought this was WAY too greasy. Next time I'll drain off some of the bacon grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Bacon and Potato Frittata with Greens

See how to make a simple breakfast frittata with bacon, potatoes, and chard.

Potato and Chorizo Mini Quiches

See how to make bite-size party quiches with potato and chorizo sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States