Potato Rounds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
I love the idea! I can have a "baked potato" without actually eating one! I'm not kiddin, if you can exercise some self control, two or three slices of these, savored, can take the place of the real thing. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Delicious! I did brush with a little meted butter before the bacon & cheese but that was the only change (besides using real bacon bits to save time). Some reviews said there wasn't enough flavor-I think you need to use a gold or red potato for this recipe. Russet or bakers would not have enough flavor. Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I had to tweak the recipe for flavour. I tossed the (raw) sliced potatoes into a mix of olive oil, italian seasoning and granulated garlic. Baked at 420 degrees for about 25 minutes, then dropped the heat to 350 degrees for another 20 minutes. I added the bacon and cheddar during the last 5 minutes of cooking. Very simple side dish and yummy as well!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
10-15-11: These were pretty good; good enough to refrigerate and reheat for a snack the following day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
These were great - I didn't pre-boil, just put the rounds in the oven without the toppings for approx. 20 minutes at 400 degrees. Lowered oven temp to the 350 the recipe calls for, added the toppings and finished them. We all loved them. I did add a little garlic powder, sliced green onions, and pepper to the rounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walkerton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
We love these at my house. I rated them a 4 because they need alittle more spice to make them flavorful. I used 3 baking potatoes sliced. I melted 1 stick of butter and added 1/2 packet of dry ranch, and that makes them phenominal. Dip the potatoes in the butter mixture and throw them in the oven. They are so good and so easy to make. Add your cheese and bacon, I used real bacon bits and sharp cheddar and you have one tasty appetizer or side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
This was good, but definitely needs a little help. I brushed the potatoes with garlic butter first. They needed a lot of salt - I would suggest salting them before you put the bacon and cheese on. Might also be good with new potatoes. I was worried that the baking potatoes were going to fall apart, but they didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
LOVED THESE THINGS!!! They were pretty quick to make. BEWARE: they're addictive!!! I drizzled each round with a butter/garlic salt mixture before putting the bacon and cheese on. They also needed a light salting after coming out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broomall, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
Really tasty! Basically like potato skins. I like to cook the potatoes for a bit untopped until they start to get a little brown, then take them out and add the cheese and bacon. Don't forget to garnish with sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
I dipped the potatoes in a garlic salt/butter mixture, added green onions and more cheese and bacon, topped off with a dollop of sour cream. Without these additions I think this recipe would have been a little bland and dry. Nice idea, but I missed the potato skin taste, you just don’t get much of that taste prepared this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Fachamatta's Famous Potatoes

See the amazing story behind Joseph Crecca’s famous “Fachamatta Potatoes.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States