Potato Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by maryscookin
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I made these to take to a Christmas dinner we were invited to. I love potato rolls and these didn't disappoint. They were easy to make and were very soft, fluffy & moist. I recommend oiling your fingers when you start to shape the rolls, as the dough can be a bit sticky. I did use butter in place of the shortening. I put them into cake pans--a dozen in one pan, and a bakers dozen in the other pan. Everyone raved about the rolls, so this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Best rolls ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cool food

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
These make very nice rolls - rave reviews at the party I took them too. Half of them I rolled into balls and put in a 9-inch round pan. The other half I rolled out, cut into circles and then folded in half (these made for great sandwich rolls!). I followed the recipe except that I substituted some of the white flour with whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
These rolls are amazing! Soft and fluffy. The perfect dinner roll. If they aren't fluffy, you have used too much flour. The dough should be a little sticky. I have found my new favorite roll recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilovegoodfood2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
These rolls are great! I made them as the recipe was written for family Easter dinner and everybody raved about them, none left over! So light and fluffy, and such a great taste they didn't need to be buttered. This has definitely become my go-to roll recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
A MUST try recipe. Made it as per recipe. They came out amazingly light and oh--my-goodness, I'm in bread roll heaven! Mmmuuach! Ty for sharing this recipe :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DemonicMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Quick and easy, had a wonderful taste, went well with my homemade potato soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glenda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taylor Ridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
You must try these, they are light and melt in your mouth delicious! We have made several bread and bun recipes and these are our favourite rolls. I do all my bread doughs in the breadmeaker, as I do these with success every time. Makes them so easy. I have subbed the vegetable shortening our on occasion for butter or vegetable oil. Still makes a beautiful roll. You can't go wrong with these. Challenge your best bun recipe with these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
These rolls were and are the best rolls you can possibly imagine! They way I did them is very easy. Simply throw all ingredients into the bread machine and select dough cycle. I will definitely make these again! Very delicious!! Thank you Derrick for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
These were great. Made them for dinner when my daughter came with her boyfriend and between them and my husband they ate almost 1/2 off the batch. Will definitely make again. Softest rolls I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States