Potato Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Delicious! So light & airy! I mixed them in the bread machine - used instant mashed potatoes & coconut oil instead of shortening. The dough was so wet that I added about 1/4c more flour while it was mixing, so it would knead properly by slapping all the sides of the bread pan. I took it out 15 minutes early, as it was rising over the edge of the pan. I made 20 large rolls, sprayed them with butter Pam & baked as directed in the toaster oven, covering with foil when they started getting too browned. I will make these often - they will be great as a dinner roll or for sandwiches. Thanks for posting, Derrick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Yummy! Although I accidentally put around 2 cups of mashed potatoes. They ended up turning out great, just a bit heavy. I omitted the egg, and used unsalted butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamDMorrison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
These were excellent rolls, they turned out beatifully golden brown w/out an egg wash. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Made these after Easter having had leftover mashed potatoes. The only thing I changed was butter instead of the shortening. Doubled the recipe, but these were devoured very quickly nonetheless. Our new favourite roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
These rolls are great! I made them as the recipe was written for family Easter dinner and everybody raved about them, none left over! So light and fluffy, and such a great taste they didn't need to be buttered. This has definitely become my go-to roll recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
So easy. Before I made these I asked everyone I know if they had heard of them. Nobody had so I decided I had to try making them. Glad I did! Completely fool proof recipe. Cut the recipe in half but other than that didn't change anything. They rose beautifully and were so moist. Definitely will be making these lots more in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I have used this a few times making changes depending on what ingredients I have or don't have and it's a very forgiving recipe for sure! The last time was today and I used canola oil instead of shortening and had some left over mashed potatoes that were made from potato flakes and the only sugar that I had was about 1/4 cup of brown sugar so that is what I used. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I let these rise in my oven while using the "proof" feature and they were just so fluffy! Taste was great. Made these under a time crunch once, let them rise half the time both rounds, and they were still pretty good. Not quite as fluffy but still totally edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I made this for the first time tonight and my family devoured it! The rolls came out very light, tender and fluffy! I made some changes: to dissolve the yeast, I added 1/2 teaspoon of raw honey to 1/4 cup warm water from the water that I used to boil the potatoes. I also substituted butter for the shortening. I really like this recipe and I will continue to make it again since my son loves the rolls very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carson's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Excellent. Light and soft. They did not rise as much as I was expecting but still a great sized batch and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States