Potato Potluck Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2004
This is an amazing potato dish if it is altered slightly! I add green onions and fresh garlic. I get so many compliments on this dish. Just change those to things and I also add a 1/4 cup of milk so it isnt so thick. Try it this way you will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2003
I have always loved these cheesey potato dishes. My family, however hasn't unless it acompanies a steak. But I tried this and we LOVED it for a great easy special Friday night dinner with the Challah bread. My husband, who is esp. grossed out by 'slimey' potatoes raved about this and asked for it again on Sabbath! So I will be making this often, even though it is summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Gave this recipe 5 stars for such a good base to start from. Read lots of the reviews and came up with the changes listed: 2 1/2 pounds potatoes, diced , 1 onion thinly sliced, 2 teaspoons onion powder, 2 teaspoons minced garlic, 1 TBS rosemary, 2 cups sour cream, 2 1/2 cups condensed cream of chicken soup, 2 cups shredded Cheddar cheese, 2/3 cup shredded extra sharp cheddar cheese(for the top), The extra sharp cheddar cheese on top gave it a very nice look and a lot more flavor than mozzarella would. This is so good that if you needed a quick main dish all you need to do is at the meat/chicken of your choice to the dish and you'll have a happy family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
Good potatoes! I used a little more garlic and even then added a dash of garlic powder (as well as the other spices). Next time, I will use a little more potatoes as this was a little too creamy but the taste was very good! Went well with our pork chop dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
THIS WAS SO AWESOME, EASY, AND WAS GREAT ON THE HOLIDAY TABLE!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
fantastic, so easy to make and very very tasty. i added on whole onion chopped pretty fine, and used one can of cream of mushroom and one can cream of potato (dont really like the mushroom soup), i will used 2 cans of cream of celery next time. TRY THIS ONE, YOU WILL LOVE IT. TASTES VERY MUCH LIKE A TWICE BAKED POTATO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JimDaddy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clifford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kingsley, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
Not exactly a low-cal dish but this is absolutely wonderful!! I really had more sauce than I needed but maybe I didn't use enough potatoes as I just guessed at the amount. Flavor was wonderful and husband ate 3 servings! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
I made this for our annual White Elephant party we go to every year and wanted to wow everyone. I had found this recipe by luck. I got many compliments on this dish and everyone asking for the recipe. I did as the recipe states but also added more potatoes and salt and pepper as the recipe does not state this. Otherwise this was a hit,thanks so much for posting this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Very nice potato dish. I didn't have any mozarella cheese but I did sprinkle bacon bits on the top and that was yummy. Also didn't have any cream of mushroom so I used cream of celery instead. My family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This was a great recipe but, like other reviewers, I did find it a little bland so I added onion as others had then I also added about a tbls. of rosemary and some parsley to it. Like others I also used fresh garlic. Once this was done it was great and I got tons of compliments at Easter dinner. I had plenty of leftovers so I cooked 1/2 a pound of bacon cut into pieces, removed it from the grease and cooked 1/2 pound of boneless skinless chicken breast cut into pieces in the bacon grease. I mixed the chicken in with the potatoes, added a can of mushrooms and topped it all with bacon and a sprinkle of shredded cheddar. I baked it uncovered until it was bubbly all the way through. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States