Potato Plum Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
Hi guys! I'm the submitter of this recipe and I just wanted to say how happy I am that this dish has brought back many wonderful memories for you. I stated that these were time consuming and I certainly wasn't kidding because I'm making them now as I'm writing. "Prairie Dixie", I give you so much credit for saying that you'll be making this every fall for the rest of your life. I haven't made my own recipe in several years and I now know why!! I am however, making 32 of them, so it's taking a bit of time. I just wanted to say that some of my raw "knoedels" were sticking to the plate and breaking open the dough, so I went back and used cooking spray on the plate. It helped a lot. I hope my Oma is looking down and smiling at me because I'm definitely looking up at her and appreciating all of her efforts and of course, love. Happy cooking gang!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by dayna~rae
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
Update: I combined this recipe with 'Peach Dumplings' on this site. I wasn't sure what farina was, so I just added more flour. Thanks so much, Linda, Caleb and I had such fun making this. It was messy but so worth it! (See posted pics). You're as sweet as a sugar cube ! (: Love you! ~Day~ Original review: This recipe is so awesome, and I was extremely pleased to see such a treasured heirloom recipe submitted here. My family used to make peach dumplings like this, but I thought the sugarcube in the center was such a nice touch! It added an extra sweetness to an already wonderful recipe! The best recipes in the world are the ones made with love and time, and this is definately one of those recipes. Thank you so much, Linda, for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
Great! My Austrian grandmother also makes these, and I'm glad mine turned out as well as hers. I tried this recipe twice, once making the potatoe dough from scratch and then using store bought potato dumpling mix. Both work great, but the store bought method is a lot faster :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
I am German and I usually get food like this fresh on the local fairgrounds. I am used to haven it served with a creamy vanilla sauce on top. This time I am too busy to go, so I though I'd try making them myself. This is a pretty good recipe. Advice from a Southern Germany where potatoe dumplings are a regular on a Sunday lunch table: the secret is the slow boil, rapid boil will make them fall apart. Thanks for the recipe and regards from the other side of the big pond :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
It's so nice to see family heirloom recipes posted. This one was fun to make & the sugar cube replacing the plum pit is just pure genius. Loved it, thanks so much for sharing:o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
My Hungarian Grandmother made these for us our whole lives, they are wonderful, just how we remembered. we add cinnamon to the bread crumbs, and brown sugar. When you can taste childhood memories, its just wonderful....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALESIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lackawanna, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
These are, as stated in the recipe, a bit time consuming but it is worth it! Good things do come to those who are willing to wait and trying out any new recipe, especially one that is traditional in another country... it will take some time and patience.....You'll love these if you try them! Thanks Linda for sharing your Oma's recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
Thank you Linda!!! My Grandmother used to make these when I was a little girl and our family recipe was lost years ago. As soon as I saw this I had to try them and am I ever glad I did. These are even better than my Grandma used to make, and make sure you make lots, I have already made 6 batches and am still getting requests for more. The only thing I changed is that we don't serve them with bread crumbs, I mix sour cream with sugar and spoon it over luke warm dumplings. I also used much more flour than called for to get the dough a consistency for rolling. Thanx so much for the recipe Linda I will be using it every fall for the rest of my life! I just wish plums were in season all year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
I tried these and I absolutely loved them! I personally don't mind a recipe that takes a little time, especially if it's authentic, but maybe if you don't truly enjoy cooking, you may want to stick with some simpler recipes that require less cooking experience. Definitely worth the time and effort. Thank you Linda! It's a very special recipe and I know that I'll try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Choteau, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
Boy these are as stated "time consuming". Not worth making at all. The taste just was not there for all the effort
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States