Potato Plum Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
my husband's Austrian grandmother made these , we all thought we would never eat them again , when I found this recipe I made them and everyone said they were authentic and as good as what we remembered , we loved them they are also good made with apricots. Instead of a sugar cube I put 1/2 tsp sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Wow. Just like my Austro-Croat Aunt. Fairly bullet proof. If anyone knows a trick to get the struesel to stick better, let me know. Best to get dark plums, slightly overripe and pruning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Awesome. Unfortunately at the time I wanted to try this, plums were out of season, so I improvised. I used cherries instead of plums and made lots and lots of little dumplings. I couldn't find sugar cubes at the store, so I replaced the cherry pits with red and purple skittles, which adds its own kind of flavor. So, SO good. The cherry-sized dumplings are perfectly bite-sized, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I'm so surprised to see a recipe here for "Gombocs" (the Hungarian name for them; we kids called them "gumballs"! Brown the bread crumbs well for best flavor. Our family likes these more on the second day, when we slice them and fry them in butter, like potatoes, then spoon the plum sauce over (or warmed currant or plum jelly). UNBELIEVABLE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JESSICUP
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Perfect! Just like my Oma used to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICUP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
These were so good. They can be time consuming but so worth the wait. So if your an inpatient cook these are not for you. My da is a good very good cook but so is your oma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bremen, Bremen, Germany
Living In: Lanham, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
We just weren't very fond of these. They turned out to be too sweet, sickening really. Shame, because I do like dumplings and plums seperately, however the idea of combining them into a super recipe was a bit much. Thanks anyways though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
I am German and I usually get food like this fresh on the local fairgrounds. I am used to haven it served with a creamy vanilla sauce on top. This time I am too busy to go, so I though I'd try making them myself. This is a pretty good recipe. Advice from a Southern Germany where potatoe dumplings are a regular on a Sunday lunch table: the secret is the slow boil, rapid boil will make them fall apart. Thanks for the recipe and regards from the other side of the big pond :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dayna~rae
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
Update: I combined this recipe with 'Peach Dumplings' on this site. I wasn't sure what farina was, so I just added more flour. Thanks so much, Linda, Caleb and I had such fun making this. It was messy but so worth it! (See posted pics). You're as sweet as a sugar cube ! (: Love you! ~Day~ Original review: This recipe is so awesome, and I was extremely pleased to see such a treasured heirloom recipe submitted here. My family used to make peach dumplings like this, but I thought the sugarcube in the center was such a nice touch! It added an extra sweetness to an already wonderful recipe! The best recipes in the world are the ones made with love and time, and this is definately one of those recipes. Thank you so much, Linda, for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
These are, as stated in the recipe, a bit time consuming but it is worth it! Good things do come to those who are willing to wait and trying out any new recipe, especially one that is traditional in another country... it will take some time and patience.....You'll love these if you try them! Thanks Linda for sharing your Oma's recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States