Potato Penne Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2000
This soup was fabulous. Even though it did take a little while to make it, it was well worth the effort. I was a little hesitant at first to add the soy sauce, but was glad that I did, as it really added to the taste. My husband and I both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
Delicious! A great way to use fresh veggies. I added garlic, as well, and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This soup was deeelicious! I served it a dinner party for 15 people, and it was loved by both adults and kids. Just be aware that it takes a while to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Excellent recipe - somewhere between creamy potato soup and minestrone. I decreased the cooking time for the pasta so it wouldn't get over done. I would recommend using butter instead of margarine. I also added 1/2 tsp garlic powder and 1/2 tsp fennel seeds. The fennel made it really delicious. I will be making this on a regular basis from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
This was very good, but a lot of work with many dirty dishes at the end. I would suggest adding additional barley and sprinkling fresh parmesan cheese on top when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
This is a good recipe- lots of chopping and prep is worth it, I think, and it's not very complicated! You might want to try adding a little garlic or garlic salt- after all, it's hard to imagine potato soup without garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
This seemed a little bland, and I did not like the combination of potatoes and pasta together in one dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
I wanted to like this soup, I really did. Out of all the choices on this site, I zeroed in on this one and wound up being really disappointed. Disappointed because of how labor intensive it was to make it. Because I'm not a big fan of thyme, I reduced that amount but where's the flavor?? No other spices to rev this up past 1st gear. I added lots more soy sauce (reduced sodium of course) and had already sauteed garlic and portabello mushrooms along with the onions. Oh well... all my produce down the drain. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States