Potato Penne Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Excellent recipe - somewhere between creamy potato soup and minestrone. I decreased the cooking time for the pasta so it wouldn't get over done. I would recommend using butter instead of margarine. I also added 1/2 tsp garlic powder and 1/2 tsp fennel seeds. The fennel made it really delicious. I will be making this on a regular basis from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This soup was deeelicious! I served it a dinner party for 15 people, and it was loved by both adults and kids. Just be aware that it takes a while to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
This seemed a little bland, and I did not like the combination of potatoes and pasta together in one dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
I wanted to like this soup, I really did. Out of all the choices on this site, I zeroed in on this one and wound up being really disappointed. Disappointed because of how labor intensive it was to make it. Because I'm not a big fan of thyme, I reduced that amount but where's the flavor?? No other spices to rev this up past 1st gear. I added lots more soy sauce (reduced sodium of course) and had already sauteed garlic and portabello mushrooms along with the onions. Oh well... all my produce down the drain. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
Delicious! A great way to use fresh veggies. I added garlic, as well, and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
This is a good recipe- lots of chopping and prep is worth it, I think, and it's not very complicated! You might want to try adding a little garlic or garlic salt- after all, it's hard to imagine potato soup without garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
This was very good, but a lot of work with many dirty dishes at the end. I would suggest adding additional barley and sprinkling fresh parmesan cheese on top when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2000
This soup was fabulous. Even though it did take a little while to make it, it was well worth the effort. I was a little hesitant at first to add the soy sauce, but was glad that I did, as it really added to the taste. My husband and I both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States