Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Love them. Made enough for my husband and son. [I'm on a low carb. diet. Ugh!] Used 4 potatoes 3 eggs yolks.[leftover from a white cake] and about a cup of pancake mix, salt and pepper. I like these for a breakfast potatoe pancake 'cause there puffy. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
this recipe was just okay. i found them slightly bland, and i even added green onions to them to try to up the flavor. one thing to remember when using a boxed pancake mix is to make sure it's not too sweet. otherwise they just taste funny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Serrano

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I was kind of disappointed by this recipe. I used to make potato pancakes with my mom (different recipe) and they always came out great. This recipe left me with a big goopy mess that wouldn't cook right (it was too watery to fry). I finally got fed up and threw it in a greased 9x13. It baked well and didn't stick (like I thought it would), but it was ridiculously dense. My boyfriend (who's part Jewish and loves potato pancakes) said it was different but tasted ok. I think I'll stick to my mom's recipe from now on- it's more work but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Good taste and simple to make. Not going to change a thing next time I make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This recipe was excellent! It was very easy to make too! While reading the previous reviews for this recipe, some people said that it was very dry. This was NOT the case in my cooking trial. Just remember that if you decide to grind the potatoes and the onions by hand, that you DO NOT drain the left-over water. Overall, a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Gilman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
This recipe makes ALOT of pancakes! And I think there is a miscalculation on the amount of vegetable oil needed....One tablespoon for 5 LBS of potatoes?!? I was frying pancakes for 1-1/2 hrs. and used about 3/4 - 1 cup over the course of that time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
I just made these tonight for dinner. I have never had potato pancakes before and this recipe was great! They came out so awsome, my family loved them. They were easy to make and taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This is excellent. However, it could use a little more salt, but that's just my opinion. Sour cream goes great with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
This is a great recipe! It inspied me to use grated zucchini instead of potato and wow...yum!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
This recipe was very dry and gluey. Not even my husband would eat them and he likes everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States