Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
looking for something for a quick breakfast, thought I'd try these. Used frozen hash browns (worked just fine) chopped shallots and a little soy milk to thin out the batter a bit. They came out wonderful, tasty, crisp and I'll make them again without any hesitation. I only gave 4 stars because they weren't like my dad's, which used less flour and were much more crispy....but then again, I've never been able to duplicate his potato pancakes and probably never will.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Wow! I've never had potato pancakes before I have a bunch of potatoes that I need to use up and this sounded good. Follow the recipe just like written. I had no problems with dry, floury pancakes. You will find liquid as you grate the potatoes/onions, don't drain it. Use it in the recipe. I will totally be making this again. I think they taste best warm with a bit of butter. Tomorrow morning, we will try them with a homemade syrup recipe from this site. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Very good. I scaled the recipe down: used 3/4 cup Bisquick, 1 egg, 2 medium potatoes and one small zucchini. I did add 1/4 cup milk otherwise it would have been too dry. In addition to chopped onion I added 1 tsp minced garlic, 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper flakes, 1/4 tsp dill and 1/2 tsp black pepper. Cooked very nicely at low heat for about 4 minutes each side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
My kids love these, my boyfriend love these and I absolutely will make again and again. I used leftover mashed potatoes that I made the night before (I had also added some cheddar cheese in my mashed last night) and this came out so tasty. I was surprised how yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I LOVED this version. I did make some changes. Instead of grating I used the processor to chop the potatoes and onion together. That was it really. Hubby did like but said to ease up on the onion a little. Just as good the next day for a snack that I shared with my son. He really liked them. I had no problems with it being too floury or anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This was recipe was awesome, my four year old & my Husband LOVED them. i added a little less pancake flour & added a little parmesan cheese & a clove of crushed Garlic..Wow it had GREAT flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I like this better than any other i tried, so i will keep this as main one.needed green onion tops or chives and sour cream i had used red onions not too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natasha376

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
excellent. I added a dash of garlic powder. served with sour cream and my husband couldn't eat anymore. think for my next dinner guests ill serve as an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PhoenixMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chamberlain, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Freeport, New York, USA
Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Love them. Made enough for my husband and son. [I'm on a low carb. diet. Ugh!] Used 4 potatoes 3 eggs yolks.[leftover from a white cake] and about a cup of pancake mix, salt and pepper. I like these for a breakfast potatoe pancake 'cause there puffy. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
this recipe was just okay. i found them slightly bland, and i even added green onions to them to try to up the flavor. one thing to remember when using a boxed pancake mix is to make sure it's not too sweet. otherwise they just taste funny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States