Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
One problem with how this recipe is written: It states in a food processor grate potatoes and onion, it would be more helpful to state as: grate potatoes and chop onion fine. I was concerned with the recipe not being too dry so I used 5 eggs and added 1/2 cup of oil, I beat eggs & oil till foamy, than I added pancake mix, started mixer & added onions, potatoes, salt pepper and continued mixing until well incorporated. Than turned out onto a sizzling griddle, spread potatoes out with mixture, turned when bubbly, these turned out like heaven, we used sour cream and/or chunky applesauce with cinnamon and/or real maple syrup. I even doubled this recipe and it turned out with excellent results, for doubling I used 10 eggs and 1 cup oil. I never thought about using pancake mix! What a great thought, thanks for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
awsome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Just made these tonight and they came out great! Ive never had potato pancakes before. I cut recipe to 4 servings. I used 3 medium potatoes (next time i think i will use 4) and shredded with hand grater and just chopped onion finely. Served with sour cream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mRS.L
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I scaled this recipe down a little since it was just my husband and I. I had never had potato pancakes before - but my husband wanted them so I made them and I was pleasantly surprised. These are really good! I did add more salt and pepper then called for.. and I think that I may have used a little more onion too. I think there is a lot that you can do with this recipe to accommodate it to your tastes .. I will definitely make them again but I may add some diced jalapenos to spice it up just a little and I may add a little grated cheddar too :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mRS.L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salinas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I had about a pound of some flavorful leftover garlic mashed potatoes to use so I mixed it with 2 eggs and 1.5 cups of pancake mix and pepper. It was pretty sticky but molded into pancakes well enough with oiled hands. Drizzled olive oil into pans to cook until nicely browned and served with shredded cheddar and salsa. These were pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I halved the recipe and used 2 eggs. Made plenty for family of 4 and had leftovers. Will try to make them thinner next time....they were a little thick and therefore a little dense the first time but taste was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
By putting the potatoes in a blender you create paste. They need to be HAND grated and not shredded either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I liked this a lot and the kids ate all and asked for more. We have a winner. I used 1.5 cups of applesauce and omitted the eggs. Very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
mmmmm so good especially with some green onions on top and just the smallest drizzle of maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Tasty as heck even with only two eggs. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States