Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Topped with sour cream and New Mexico red chili or salsa......yummmmmm. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I made half the quantity. They were wonderful with salsa and sour cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I make these on a regular basis now. Hubby requests them. Only change I make is I mix a little milk so it's not so dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Original recipe would be a lot of food. Cut down to 5 servings for a family of four. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I have always used flour to give the pancakes their thickness, however seeing this recipe using the pancake mix I gave it a try. I used Bisquick and a cup less than the recipe. They were the fluffiest potato pancakes I have ever seen and quite delicious too. Will definitely make this way again. The family varied with their toppings from ketchup to sour cream to apple sauce and my brother even used PANCAKE SYRUP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CCONCANNON
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Going to give it a go using Buckwheat pancake mix. Wheat intolerant. Love potato cakes/fritters first for pancakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I added 2 1/2 cups of bisquck and started stirring. I had two much liquid so I threw in the rest of a small box. These were really really good! The recipe makes a ton of them though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I grew up with potato pancakes from a box, never my favorite. Made these on a whim thinking it would be fun and loved them! Can't wait to read the rest of the reviews and play with the recipe for next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I grated my potato and onion by hand and would discourage use of mashed potatoes as some reviewers had done. Onion was good but I think it would be good with chives, served with sour cream. At first I didn't think the batter would hold as it just seemed like potato and not much else but it worked. I used more oil than specified which made them a little greasy. I also scaled back the recipe to 3 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Regional Municipality Of Niagara, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
One problem with how this recipe is written: It states in a food processor grate potatoes and onion, it would be more helpful to state as: grate potatoes and chop onion fine. I was concerned with the recipe not being too dry so I used 5 eggs and added 1/2 cup of oil, I beat eggs & oil till foamy, than I added pancake mix, started mixer & added onions, potatoes, salt pepper and continued mixing until well incorporated. Than turned out onto a sizzling griddle, spread potatoes out with mixture, turned when bubbly, these turned out like heaven, we used sour cream and/or chunky applesauce with cinnamon and/or real maple syrup. I even doubled this recipe and it turned out with excellent results, for doubling I used 10 eggs and 1 cup oil. I never thought about using pancake mix! What a great thought, thanks for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States