Potato Pancakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
By far the best Potato Pancakes recipe I have found!! My only change was cut the salt in half and replace it with Onion Salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamison

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
This was a GREAT recipe! My husband loved them. It reminded him of when his father made potato pancakes when he was a child. I made the same changes as other reviewers. Adding 1/4 Bisquick to the recipe helped hold it together and adding the onions andn garlic salt made it very flavorable. Thanks to Deanne & the other reviewers for making this a favorite in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
the flavor was great when i added onion. but the mixture did not hold together well enough to flip and keep its shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Excellent recipe. Will add a little flour next time, to give it a less mushy feel. Overall really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Casar, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
My family loved this dish!!! It was very tasty!! The cheese added a GREAT flavor. The only thing I had to do different was add flour. When I tried to follow the original recipe... My mashed potatoes stayed mashed potatoes. When I added flour to the mix... they turned into golden brown goodness!! Thanks for sharing your recipe. We really enjoyed it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Yummy! I added milk and self-rising flour. Fry on low heat in a little bit of oil, you can see the tops start to bubble like regular pancakes, check for a golden brown color on the bottom and flip. Cook slowly (low heat) until browned. These came out crispy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
This is a very good starter recipie for potato pancakes. So many personal taste modifications can be made. I did add 1/3 cup flour, 1 tsp each of onion & garlic powder along with 1 tbs parsley. To cut down on the fat content, I used pam instead of butter, & 2% shredded cheese. They are easily turned if cooked slow and allow to brown, pressing after turning. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbin J Kostewicz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
These pancakes were good, but extremely messy to make. I had a lot of trouble flipping them in the pan. I may try this recipe again and make some modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
wow if i could, i would rate it 1000000 stars!!!!!!!!! it is great, especially if you add some basil on them. i used chedder and parmesan instead of just chedder, because i was almost out of chedder and didn't have enough. but the parmesan adds to the potatoes very nicely. oh and we didn't have potatoes so i used Idahoan instant mashed potatoes and it was awesome!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This is the best way to use up leftover mashed potatoes! The recipe as is is a bit bland - at least I like to add green onions and pepper. It is one of those recipes you can alter in a million ways though - the base is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States