Potato Pancakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by MountainGirl
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I added 1 more egg, 1/4 cup o flour and 1/4 of fresh chives. I fried them in bacon fat with oil and butter - just a small amount in a cast iron skillet on medium. They have been awesome both times I've made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MountainGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I was quite pleased with these. Used left over mashed potatoes and added green onions (a must after having tasted them). Mine were a little soupy as well, so I had to quickly grab a pinch of flour. Didn't think they'd turn out, but they did. Will make again as I'm always on the lookout for recipes using leftovers. Served with Spanish Omelet and fruit salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Photo by Susan B-R
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
YUMMY, YUMMY, YUMMY!!!! This is the only Potato Pancake recipe you need. After reviewing other people's feedback here are some additions that I made. I added chopped up leftover bacon (could do the same with sausage), three tablespoons of flour, a pinch of garlic salt, a pinch of pepper, and onion to taste (recommend you fry up the onion first). Recommend you make them a little bigger then a sausage patty. I made six nice size pancakes with the current measurements. Recommend doubling if you are cooking for more then just three people. Cook on medium heat. Be patient, if you cook them too high you will burn them and the middle will not firm up. This one is husband approved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan B-R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
this recipe says to use griddle but gives no cooking temp.i tried this with no cheese and cooked five mins on side before trying to flip and did not stay in pancake form while trying to flip to cook other side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craftman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
These were so good and so easy!! The cheese really made them tasty. I followed the directions but did use bacon grease instead of butter. We had them with grilled steaks for dinner. The next morning we had the leftover steak and potatoes with eggs for breakfast. Delicious!! Will definitely make these again~many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
So I am making these now and have figured out that if you don't flatten them out enough they will fall apart. I also think that a lower heat is better. My first batch was on med high and I couldn't flip them at all, I threw them out. I lowered it to med low at 5 min a side and they are perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Everyone loved this recipe....I did add 1 tsp onion powder since other recipes call for some onions and my kids don't like them. I also took the advice of some of you and added 2 TBSP of flour to help them stick together. Served with sour cream and homemade applesauce. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Very nice. The recipe is great. For me, I can add some things to make the more tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Perfect. Next time I might add some bacon bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Added the following: 1/3 C flour, onion flakes, garlic salt instead of salt. All told, this recipe is good, but a little bland for what I like. Wish I would have had a fresh onion to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abreitbach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Circle, Montana, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States