Potato Pancakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
I'm a fairly intermediate cook and couldn't get these to turn out. They were greasy & fell into a million pieces. I did add flour to my second batch and they turned out a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
I found adding a little flour made the potatoes easier to turn and did not take away from the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
We made these with four cheese instant potatoes, bacon bits, garlic, colby-jack cheese and sauteed onions... they were great! Will definitely make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2003
These were very good and a great way to use leftover mashed potatoes. I spiced them up with onion flakes and bacon bits. I replaced the salt in the recipe with seasoned salt (Lawrys) and I think that really made a difference. If you like cheese, I would add more. These need TLC when flipping, so as others said, don't make the patties too thick or large. Don't crowd them on your pan either because it will make it more difficult to flip!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
These were good as starters. Next time I will make sure to add extras like more cheese, bacon and onions. This was my first time making potato pancakes. They good several tries for me to become efficient at them. Several ended up in big messes. They are nore difficult to make than pancakes. Be careful not to spread them too thin or you won't be able to flip them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
I've been looking for a recipe for potato pancakes made with mashed potataoes and I'm so happy to have found this one! These taste almost as good as the ones my stepmom made when I was younger. Good tasting & simple to make- the best combination. My kids & nephews loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
My Mom has been making these since I can remember, but without the cheddar cheese. The cheese makes them much better. I serve them as a side - as you would hash browns - with bacon & eggs. Frying them in the bacon pan doesn't hurt either. The only reason I didn't give this recipe 5 stars is that it's not quite as good as potato latkes. But, it is good and is a great use of leftover mashed potatoes. If you're making these for the first time, I recommend green onions or chives. Also, be sure to make the pancakes more like the size of sausage patties. If you make them too big, they'll fall apart when you turn them. Thanks for sharing this Deanne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
247 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brawley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
These are sooooo good! I like to add some seasonings, including a little cayenne and green onion. Parm cheese works well too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
I am giving this a 4-star because the taste was awesome. I would give it a 2 1/2 star if it was based on ease. It was VERY hard to flip the pancakes after they browned. Mine pretty much came out broken in half, or in many pieces. I added fresh garlic & green onions. Went perfect with our barbeque chicken. Probably won't make again in pancake form, maybe casserole form would work better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
I dunno... were so-so, basically I was disappointed. Sorry... :[
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States