Potato Pancakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
I have made this several times with good results. I always add flour to hold it together a little more. The presentation is not very great but it tastes wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
Very good. I added some extra cheese,still very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRAN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
Tasty use of leftovers. As other reviewers have mentioned, making them "medium size" helps prevent them from falling apart. Also, I did add just a touch of flour to the potatoes and also a light coating of flour to the outside. They held together quite well and were not at all dry. Also, frying in bacon drippings does add a nice extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glens Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
These were pretty good potato pancakes; at least they were much better than others I have tried. I took the advice of other reviewers and added a couple of tablespoons of flour to help hold the pancakes together, but I'm not sure it was necessary. The main thing to ensure something like this comes out right is to use a lot of oil, which I know Americans are loathe to do. I made four large pancakes out of the recipe and fried them in about 1/4 cup of oil and they turned out perfectly -- no problems flipping them at all. (I did add one clove of minced garlic which gave the pancakes a nice kick. Also sprinkled some pepper on top whilst they fried.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pillowtrot

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
These were yummy! I had to add a little flour to my potatoes because they were too loose. After that they fried very well. I will make them next time with garlic mashed potatoes and then I think they will be smashing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
I'm a fairly intermediate cook and couldn't get these to turn out. They were greasy & fell into a million pieces. I did add flour to my second batch and they turned out a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
I found adding a little flour made the potatoes easier to turn and did not take away from the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
We made these with four cheese instant potatoes, bacon bits, garlic, colby-jack cheese and sauteed onions... they were great! Will definitely make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2003
These were very good and a great way to use leftover mashed potatoes. I spiced them up with onion flakes and bacon bits. I replaced the salt in the recipe with seasoned salt (Lawrys) and I think that really made a difference. If you like cheese, I would add more. These need TLC when flipping, so as others said, don't make the patties too thick or large. Don't crowd them on your pan either because it will make it more difficult to flip!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
These were good as starters. Next time I will make sure to add extras like more cheese, bacon and onions. This was my first time making potato pancakes. They good several tries for me to become efficient at them. Several ended up in big messes. They are nore difficult to make than pancakes. Be careful not to spread them too thin or you won't be able to flip them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States