Potato Pancakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2015
Deanne, your potato pancakes are awesome! I really like this recipe and I'm sure it will see a lot of use. Note- If you've added the 3 tablespoons of flour and they're still falling apart when you flip them, then you're flipping too soon. You have to let the bottom get fully browned and firm before you try. It also helps to use a rounded spatula. Thanks again for sharing this. We all loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BonnieJo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
I loved them, the kids didn't get past one bite each - didn't like the texture. Too bad for them! ;) The only problem is we never, ever have leftover mashed potatoes lol. If I make more, they eat more! These stayed together nicely and were easy to flip. They would be awesome with bacon & onions, like big unrolled perogies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen Llemon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Rather bland as written. Need to add some onion (white, green or minced, dried). Do not flip too early, they will fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Added flour like suggested. My husband went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Added a bit of shredded carrot and a bit of rice milk since the first pancake wasn't sticking together so well. Easy, delicious and a fast meal by just adding salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
These are WAY too salty. But maybe it was because of the bacon I added, and the potatoes were already salted too.. Kinda weird anyways. I won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Kimball

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
These were quite good! I added a little garlic powder and a few chopped green onions. I also added a little flour to hold the batter together better. They would be even better with some sort of sauce on the side, or sour cream and applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This recipe is not for me. The cakes are too dense for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
If you find that your potato mixture is too runny, just add instant potato flakes instead of flour. Also you'll want to chill these prior to cooking to help alleviate the 'falling apart' problem. What I did was scoop them out with an ice cream scooper, rolled them in panko, placed them on a plate and stuck them in the fridge. When you're ready to cook them, just squish them down a bit when they go in the pan so you're not trying to fry a ball! :) Experiment a bit with spices like minced onion, garlic powder, or even ranch mix! For the basic recipe I'm giving this five stars...they're great if you're careful with prep and execution. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karenfwb

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
To anyone saying they are bland, this is a very basic recipe you can build upon. The trick is in boiling them with flavors and then adding a little pizaaz to the mix once mashed. I added minced garlic, onion salt, basil, chili powder and whole grain mustard in with the boiling liquid and instead of using water I used a mix of veggie and chicken broth. I'm adding chopped green onion to the mash and a spoon of parmesan with the cheese also. Its very good as a starting point as a base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States