Potato Pancakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
My Mom has been making these since I can remember, but without the cheddar cheese. The cheese makes them much better. I serve them as a side - as you would hash browns - with bacon & eggs. Frying them in the bacon pan doesn't hurt either. The only reason I didn't give this recipe 5 stars is that it's not quite as good as potato latkes. But, it is good and is a great use of leftover mashed potatoes. If you're making these for the first time, I recommend green onions or chives. Also, be sure to make the pancakes more like the size of sausage patties. If you make them too big, they'll fall apart when you turn them. Thanks for sharing this Deanne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
248 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brawley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
These potatoe pancakes were awesome. I did add 1/3 cup flour to pancakes together. I also added a splash of milk to get the right consistency and bacon bits. Served with sour cream. So delicious...Will definately make them again...Thanks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
I made these tonight and they were a big hit! I did some alterations, however, I did use the cheese, but I also added 3 tblsp. flour and some fresh snipped chives. I also added a teaspoon of garlic powder and a teaspoon of hot sauce and salt and pepper. My family loved them. I will be making this one again! A great way to use leftover mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
This is it! I've tried (and failed) many potato pancake recipes and this one is great! I just added a little Bisquick to the mix (approx 1/4 c.), and a sprinkle of garlic salt, and added margarine to pan in between batches, and they came out perfect and delicious!!! Thanks for submitting this recipe! I will never have to throw out leftover mashed potatoes again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ItalianCowgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mola, Puglia, Italy
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
These were ok, but I thought they were bland. I also had a hard time turning them. The second batch I made I added 3 tbs. of flour, 1 tbs. chopped onion, and 1 tsp. garlic powder. Then I served them with sour cream and they were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
These are sooooo good! I like to add some seasonings, including a little cayenne and green onion. Parm cheese works well too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
These were good as starters. Next time I will make sure to add extras like more cheese, bacon and onions. This was my first time making potato pancakes. They good several tries for me to become efficient at them. Several ended up in big messes. They are nore difficult to make than pancakes. Be careful not to spread them too thin or you won't be able to flip them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2002
These were pretty good for potatoe pancakes made with mashed potatoes. I guess I'm just spoiled. I'm used to my grandmothers potatoe pancakes that are made by shredding fresh potatoes, a ton of work but the difference in taste is all the difference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2001
I made mine a bit flatter and cooked them longer, which made them crispier on the outside but still mashed on the inside, but they were still quite good, easy to make and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2002
I am not sure if it was me or the recipie but this did not turn out. It was a huge mess. They didn't taste good either. I'll stick to my grandma's potatoe pancake recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States