Potato Pancakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Pretty good. For me, I thought they needed a bit more seasoning (onion powder and garlic powder would do the trick) and some flour or something to help them stay together. Will try it again next time with some tweaks. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
This recipe was exactly what I was looking for using the leftover mashed potatoes I usually end up with. I made the recipe almost exactly except that I added a little more flour to the mixture. They key with these is cook over med heat about 4-5 mins before u turn them... they came out perfect and I love mine with sour cream on the side... However the next time I make them I will add some chopped onion because I forgot it when preparing them but they still came out delicious!!Will definetly make these again! Thanx for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
These were really good. Leftover mashed potatoes are always dry and not as tasty when reheated - so this is a great way to use them. I did add a little black pepper, dried sage and about 3 tablespoons of flour to help hold them together. I also increased the cheese to 1/2 cup. Letting them get nice and crispy (over medium heat) before flipping them is the key. Serve with dollops of sour cream.... YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
This is great! I made it even with instant mashed potatoes and the outcome was really good. Husband loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
To me this recipe was just ok. Very bland flavour. Good base recipe and next time I will add more spices and more cheese, I might also add chopped up cooked whole potatoes to give it a more firm texture and sprinkle the top with more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
My boyriend liked them but I was not impressed. They did not hold their shape at all while cooking and came out very bland. (I added salt pepper and garlic). I may try these again but with some of the members tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessama

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
i made these following some reviewers' suggestions (added about 3 tbsp flour, and made the pancakes the size of a standard sausage patty), and they were FANTASTIC! i used leftover garlic mashed potatoes (in which i cooked a few cloves of garlic in the same water as the potatoes, then mashed everything together), and they were simply perfect. thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I made these just as the recipe said and they turned out really well. Try not to rush them though because they will fall apart if you try to turn them over before they are ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I used up some leftover garlic mashed potatoes with this recipe. I imagine they have the potential to be a little bland with regular mashed potatoes. They weren't bad but not fantastic. I melted a little extra cheddar on top and served it with a dollop of sour cream on the side as well. Sounded gross but I thought I'd try it, YUM! Turns out sour cream is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
The flavor of theses was good - like cheesy hashbrowns, but I couldn't get them to hold together - maybe there is a trick?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States