Potato Pancakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
To me this recipe was just ok. Very bland flavour. Good base recipe and next time I will add more spices and more cheese, I might also add chopped up cooked whole potatoes to give it a more firm texture and sprinkle the top with more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
My boyriend liked them but I was not impressed. They did not hold their shape at all while cooking and came out very bland. (I added salt pepper and garlic). I may try these again but with some of the members tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessama

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
i made these following some reviewers' suggestions (added about 3 tbsp flour, and made the pancakes the size of a standard sausage patty), and they were FANTASTIC! i used leftover garlic mashed potatoes (in which i cooked a few cloves of garlic in the same water as the potatoes, then mashed everything together), and they were simply perfect. thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I made these just as the recipe said and they turned out really well. Try not to rush them though because they will fall apart if you try to turn them over before they are ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I used up some leftover garlic mashed potatoes with this recipe. I imagine they have the potential to be a little bland with regular mashed potatoes. They weren't bad but not fantastic. I melted a little extra cheddar on top and served it with a dollop of sour cream on the side as well. Sounded gross but I thought I'd try it, YUM! Turns out sour cream is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
The flavor of theses was good - like cheesy hashbrowns, but I couldn't get them to hold together - maybe there is a trick?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
My comfort food! My mom used to make these when I was a kid. I loved when we had mashed potatoes because I knew that meant the next night we'd get to eat these. We called them Potato Patties. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAF1969

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
yum these are so good , I’m just now making them for the second time but this time I mashed up the remains of yesterdays leftover cheddar scalloped potatoes , sooo good and I didn't even need to season them, just add a little egg (enough to make it sticky) and roll in bread crumbs .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Well, I didn't have leftover mashed potatoes, so I had to use instant mashed potato flakes. That being said, I had to use two eggs to get a somewhat decent consistency to work with. Even then it was very dry. I added garlic powder to mine, and omitted the salt. If I try this again, I'll make sure to use already made mashed potatoes, but that's my fault for not reading the recipe correctly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
These were ok, but I thought they were bland. I also had a hard time turning them. The second batch I made I added 3 tbs. of flour, 1 tbs. chopped onion, and 1 tsp. garlic powder. Then I served them with sour cream and they were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States