Potato Pancakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Awesome way to use up leftover mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTWhite

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Vermont, USA
Living In: White River Junction, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I used some frozen mashed potatoes left over from thanksgiving. I left out the cheese and added 2 tablespoons of flour. I also made a sauce with a teaspoon of capers, 3 tablespoons of mayo, a teaspoon of dijon mustard and 1/2 teaspoon of red wine vinegar. My parents really enjoyed them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Wonderful! I did have to add about 1/4 to 1/2 cup of flour to thicken the mashed potatoes up because my first batch was too runny and I had to throw it out. I added Velveeta cheese because I didn't have any cheddar. Then I topped it off with sour cream. It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fulton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
These were just ok. When I tried to press them with the spatula, they stuck to it and broke apart. I found a large metal spoon to be a little bit easier. Also if they start to break when you're trying to flip them, you need to wait a little bit longer before flipping. I found them a little more tasty after I sprinkled garlic powder on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YummyMummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Great use for leftover mashed potatoes! I made this last night and added some minced shallot to the mix- topped with snipped chives and sour cream- delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoupLOVA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I followed the recipe pretty accurately, though I did have to substitute Italian blend shredded cheese for the cheddar. I found that if you dump the 1/4 cup potato mixture on the griddle and then try to flatten, it makes a mess sticking to the spatula. I ended up pressing them first, like you would a hamburger patty. The flavor was fine, as the leftover mashed potatoes were already seasoned w/ garlic, but the texture was still mushy/soft and not crispy. Not a bad tasting dish, but not exactly potato pancakes as I know them either. A bonus however: my picky one-year old loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEN78RN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Pretty good. For me, I thought they needed a bit more seasoning (onion powder and garlic powder would do the trick) and some flour or something to help them stay together. Will try it again next time with some tweaks. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
This recipe was exactly what I was looking for using the leftover mashed potatoes I usually end up with. I made the recipe almost exactly except that I added a little more flour to the mixture. They key with these is cook over med heat about 4-5 mins before u turn them... they came out perfect and I love mine with sour cream on the side... However the next time I make them I will add some chopped onion because I forgot it when preparing them but they still came out delicious!!Will definetly make these again! Thanx for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
These were really good. Leftover mashed potatoes are always dry and not as tasty when reheated - so this is a great way to use them. I did add a little black pepper, dried sage and about 3 tablespoons of flour to help hold them together. I also increased the cheese to 1/2 cup. Letting them get nice and crispy (over medium heat) before flipping them is the key. Serve with dollops of sour cream.... YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
This is great! I made it even with instant mashed potatoes and the outcome was really good. Husband loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States