Potato Pancakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
the flavor was great when i added onion. but the mixture did not hold together well enough to flip and keep its shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Excellent recipe. Will add a little flour next time, to give it a less mushy feel. Overall really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Casar, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
My family loved this dish!!! It was very tasty!! The cheese added a GREAT flavor. The only thing I had to do different was add flour. When I tried to follow the original recipe... My mashed potatoes stayed mashed potatoes. When I added flour to the mix... they turned into golden brown goodness!! Thanks for sharing your recipe. We really enjoyed it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Yummy! I added milk and self-rising flour. Fry on low heat in a little bit of oil, you can see the tops start to bubble like regular pancakes, check for a golden brown color on the bottom and flip. Cook slowly (low heat) until browned. These came out crispy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
This is a very good starter recipie for potato pancakes. So many personal taste modifications can be made. I did add 1/3 cup flour, 1 tsp each of onion & garlic powder along with 1 tbs parsley. To cut down on the fat content, I used pam instead of butter, & 2% shredded cheese. They are easily turned if cooked slow and allow to brown, pressing after turning. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbin J Kostewicz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
These pancakes were good, but extremely messy to make. I had a lot of trouble flipping them in the pan. I may try this recipe again and make some modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
wow if i could, i would rate it 1000000 stars!!!!!!!!! it is great, especially if you add some basil on them. i used chedder and parmesan instead of just chedder, because i was almost out of chedder and didn't have enough. but the parmesan adds to the potatoes very nicely. oh and we didn't have potatoes so i used Idahoan instant mashed potatoes and it was awesome!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This is the best way to use up leftover mashed potatoes! The recipe as is is a bit bland - at least I like to add green onions and pepper. It is one of those recipes you can alter in a million ways though - the base is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I should have read the reviews about the flour, because I ended up with sticky, messy, hard to turn globs of potatoes. Tasted ok, but not worth the hassle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
When I made these as the recipe called I had a big mess. Turning them was almost impossible. I read the reviews and added flour and that made such a difference, they actually turned and looked like pancakes. I'm only giving 3 stars because as is the recipe isn't that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States