Potato Pancakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
We call these "Potato Cakes" and those made with raw grated potatoes are "Potato Pancakes" (like latkes). We add flour to the mashed potatoes and also dredge in flour before frying. We don't add cheese or onions or garlic (never tried that). My friend puts bread crumbs on them (I'm not sure if she also puts it IN them?), but they're good that way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Norman Hastings

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
My family and I really enjoyed this recipes. I added bacon bits and chopped onion and a smidge of flour. Very very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Thank you for the great recipe. My potato pancakes to out crispy on the outside and creamy on the inside. Loved the addition of cheese. The trick to these are to make sure the mixture is cold consistency. After adding all ingredients I place it back into the refrigerator for an hour. Then took and coated them in flour before cooking them in butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sweeny, Texas, USA
Living In: Deer Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Is a very nice recipe to build from, and use your leftover potatoes. I did add the flour as others suggested and worked very well. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kasibee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I should have read the reviews before I cooked these...I was misled by the high number of stars. I wish I would have known to add flour or bisquick b/c without it these fall apart in the pan. My "pancakes" looked more like scrambled eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
These were so good! I did make a couple of changes though. My mashed potatoes were made with red potatoes and had little bits of the peel still in them. I decided to leave the peels and see what happened. I also added 1/3 cup of flour and a little garlic powder. I didn't have cheddar cheese so I used hot habanero cheese instead. I topped them off with a little sour cream and they were delicious! Great use of leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sav87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Yummy! These are a little tricky to get the hang of, sorta like real pancakes, the first few turn out a little funky but still good. I added chives from my garden to these potato cakes. Warning though, be careful how much salt you add to the cake recipe, depending how much salt you put in your original mashed potatoes. I didn't add any because my mashed potatoes were already seasoned enough in my opinion the first time around. Thanks for the recipe, I will come back to make these again when I am questioning how to use leftover mashed potatoes! Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
This is the first time I ever made potato pancakes for my husband and he LOVED it. I usually make mashed potatoes made with chives and sour cream and have left overs. I did add 3 TB of biscuick as someone else suggested to give it a lift .. YUMMY !! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wickie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reedsburg, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
These were great,I also added about 1/4 cup of flour. I also added garlic salt,bacon bits and green onions.They turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
For mashed potato pancakes, which usually lack in flavor, these were very good. I had a difficult time keeping the pancakes together. I didn't give it 5 stars, because I really don't think that potato pancakes really deserve five stars. That's just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel514

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States