Potato Pancakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by krystal.anne
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
My first time making potato pancakes and these turned out pretty good! However, I would add less salt next time and add some flour. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krystal.anne

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Galt, California, USA
Living In: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I used 2 1/2 cups of potatoes and 1 cup of Bisquick, added onions, a 1/2 tps of cayenne and kosher salt. Cooked on low. Be sure to could at least 10 minutes or more to make turning easier! They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
These are so good! You do have to let them get good and browned then they will turn perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Delicious!! I read several of the reviews before making my batch. I needed to use up some leftover mashed potatoes. They were lightly seasoned, so I added in plenty of cheese, green onions, bacon bits, a touch of minced garlic, and a tsp of salt. I also added in 3T of Gluten-free Bisquick, as recommended by many reviewers. I used a large skillet, 2T butter to sautee the pancakes. I formed the pancakes by hand and smooshed them down a bit. It made about 8. I cooked on medium heat for about 5-8 minutes on each side. They were perfect! Crispy outside, warm and creamy inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLIOOP109

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
This is a great basic recipe. They are great on their own or you can dress them up with anything you like. My kids like them way better than just plain mash potatoes. Sometimes I add bacon bits to mine and serve with sour cream or plain yogurt. They are like a loaded potato pancakes. Watch the consistency of your batter; depends on how thick you make your mash potatoes. If it is a bit runny you can do as some of the other reviewers suggest and added a little flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atascadero, California, USA
Living In: Redwood Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
This is great for left over mashed potato, my 10yr old loved these and was nice and cheesy too. Will defiantly do these again. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Easy and delicious! I added 2 tablespoons flour, crumbled bacon, garlic salt and cayenne pepper. I also cooked them much longer because we like them extra crispy! My husband and kids loved them! No left overs!!! Soooo easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Just made these- they were a great recipe for my leftover mashed potatoes. Next time, I will not add salt. I usually don't mind salt, but between the salt from the cheese & the salt already in the prepared mashed potatoes, these were a bit too salty. This recipe as listed is 4 stars. Very basic & easy. Next time, I will add some garlic or veggies for a yummier potato pancake. Also made these thin & no bigger than a sausage patty. Had no issues with breakage/mess making them this size. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
good stuff - but add 1 diced jalapeno for pep
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
We loved these. I added onion powder & baking bits. They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusyMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States