Potato Pancakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Added a bit of shredded carrot and a bit of rice milk since the first pancake wasn't sticking together so well. Easy, delicious and a fast meal by just adding salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
These are WAY too salty. But maybe it was because of the bacon I added, and the potatoes were already salted too.. Kinda weird anyways. I won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Kimball

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
These were quite good! I added a little garlic powder and a few chopped green onions. I also added a little flour to hold the batter together better. They would be even better with some sort of sauce on the side, or sour cream and applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This recipe is not for me. The cakes are too dense for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
If you find that your potato mixture is too runny, just add instant potato flakes instead of flour. Also you'll want to chill these prior to cooking to help alleviate the 'falling apart' problem. What I did was scoop them out with an ice cream scooper, rolled them in panko, placed them on a plate and stuck them in the fridge. When you're ready to cook them, just squish them down a bit when they go in the pan so you're not trying to fry a ball! :) Experiment a bit with spices like minced onion, garlic powder, or even ranch mix! For the basic recipe I'm giving this five stars...they're great if you're careful with prep and execution. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karenfwb

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
To anyone saying they are bland, this is a very basic recipe you can build upon. The trick is in boiling them with flavors and then adding a little pizaaz to the mix once mashed. I added minced garlic, onion salt, basil, chili powder and whole grain mustard in with the boiling liquid and instead of using water I used a mix of veggie and chicken broth. I'm adding chopped green onion to the mash and a spoon of parmesan with the cheese also. Its very good as a starting point as a base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
i made this and added 1/4 cup bisquick and garlic salt to my taste, and they were awesome! the original was tough to keep together is why i used the bisquick. it worked gooood, served with haluski
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by krystal.anne
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
My first time making potato pancakes and these turned out pretty good! However, I would add less salt next time and add some flour. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krystal.anne

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Galt, California, USA
Living In: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I used 2 1/2 cups of potatoes and 1 cup of Bisquick, added onions, a 1/2 tps of cayenne and kosher salt. Cooked on low. Be sure to could at least 10 minutes or more to make turning easier! They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
These are so good! You do have to let them get good and browned then they will turn perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States