Potato Pancakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This is a very good recipe, and one you can do a lot with. Here are some tips I hope you can find helpful. For those who are having trouble with the potatos turning black on you, try this. When you peel& grate them immediately put them in water until your ready to use them. Then drain them through either a strainer, or a clean dish towel, or both. regardless of the way you choose to drain them make sure you squeeze or drain out as much of the liquid as possible before you ad them to your batter. If you do it this way it should help with your problem. Another tip for anyone who likes their potato pancakes texture to be a little more like a traditional pancake is to either add a little instant potato mix, or instant pancake mix into the batter. If you'd like you can even add a little of both. Just make sure to add just enough extra liquid so that the end result is just a little thicker than what a normal pancake batter would be. Don't get me wrong, this is a great recipe as written. It's because of it being such a great recipe that your able to tweak it just a little bit with very minor adjustments and still retain the very same flavor that the recipe was meant to have. Give this recipe a try, as it's a very good one, and hopefully these few little tips can also be of some help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
My daughter has been asking for potato pancakes for a while now, so we have tried a few different recipes. She liked this one by far the best. She doesn't like onions, so I did leave out the "real" onion and used a dried minced onion for flavor. I had a little trouble with them falling apart when I flipped them, but since I'm a novice potato pancake maker maybe it was my technique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Perfect, very easy. Used the exact information provided here. They were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Stauffer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I made this recipe this morning for the first time. It's gonna be added to my regular rotation. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CanadaDan1971

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Easy to make and my family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Excellent and simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Elhardt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yucaipa, California, USA
Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
These were very Good! These were a nice addition to our Sunday breakfast my family absolutly devoured them...Thank You so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This recipe is awesome. I used a few more potatoes so I had to add a little more flour, but as long as you make sure you drain all the liquid from the potatoes, you should be good. Make sure you don't flip until you can see that the bottom edges are golden brown.Also, make sure you add exactly the 1/4 oil in the pan and you put a little bit of oil on the spatula so they don't stick and your potato pancakes will be perfect! Thanks Fishlove!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Morris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
These were okay. I followed the recipe exactly, but made then gluten-free by using corn starch instead of flour. I really prefer shredding the potatoes and just adding an egg - more like hash browns, but that's how I like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
I didn't grate the potatoes I shredded them. It needs parsley or a tad more salt. I thought it called for way too much oil in the pan, too. Over all they were good but not fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karyn Steele Blaney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States