Potato Pancakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
These are great. But, get creative. Add grated zucchini, pepper, minced garlic, bean sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami Barker Sutter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Needed to make some changes to make the recipe right, but other than that this is a good basic recipe for this dish. I added spices and blended everything in a food processor. Otherwise you just end up with hash browns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I love this recipe!! I just sauté the onions in olive oil before adding them to the potatoes, then I lay out the potatoes in a baking dish and bake in the oven (325° for about 45 min.) Just GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I made these today and they were a hit with me and my family! I doubled the recipe, using ten small to medium-sized potatoes, and added a bit of cayenne pepper to give it some spice. We will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeborahVictoria
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
My grandmother and mother made their potato pancakes exactly this way for years and years. This is a true potato pancake batter from the "old country". Potatoes should be grated and not shredded. DO NOT leave skins on the potatoes as J-Dubb did, but peel first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Turin, New York, USA
Living In: Casselberry, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julie W
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
WOW!!!!!!!!!! Everyone LOVED these. Followed the recipe exact except left out the onion. (just used a tad of onion powder. Also, I left the skin on and they turned a weird, dark color. Next time I will take off the skin or wash them much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JJRsMomma
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I thought this was a wonderful recipe. It's very easy and it tastes great. I made a few adjustments: added garlic and I also lowered the heat to medium. I burned a few because the heat was so high. Also, try not to turn your back on this recipe because they brown quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJRsMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
This was a great recipe! I made it just as stated, and they were crispy, flavorful, and tasty with plain yogurt and apple sauce on top. Do be prepared for the cooking time though, as it was longer than i had anticipated. so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
We love our hashbrowns. One weekend I didn't make our big breakfast and had the fresh ready made package of southern style hashbrowns that I needed to use. I made these and OMG they were wonderful. How simple and my family loves extra crispy hashbrowns - these did the trick. I will always make my hashbrowns this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ham Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
It's like a large hash brown with onion. Very good, but not as the main part of a meal. I though it would be more like a traditional pancake but should have known better when it only calls for 2 Tbs of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jonshepi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States