Potato Pancakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
BLAND! That's the best and most polite word I can use to describe this disaster of a recipe. I'll keep looking and use my modified version that actually provided flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
My mom wanted to cook me something quick and Gluten-Free (long story). I found this recipe and instead of flour, I used Gluten-Free pancake mix and left out the salt and pepper. It was so yummy with Boysenberry Preserves and a scrambled egg on the side. I, actually, cooked them on a frying pan like a pancake. DEEE-Licious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Really nice. The food processor really helps. Squeeze the shredded potatoes as much as you can. They always hold and amazing amount of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Grating the potatoes and onion together makes the difference! Do not skimp on this step. It's worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
This was a yummy easy alternative side dish to go with my baked salmon. I did add some extras like garlic and some extra flour to make it not as runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tarabarra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camano Island, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
This is good, my kids even ate them and they are picky eaters! I used leeks from our garden instead of the onion, pretty tasty and added a little green. I think next time I will squeeze the liquid out of the potato and maybe add some zucchini to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
mom would make these except she used bacon grease/fat, was great!! of course I am talking about 50 years ago
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Next time I will add some chives to pump up the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This is a very good recipe, and one you can do a lot with. Here are some tips I hope you can find helpful. For those who are having trouble with the potatos turning black on you, try this. When you peel& grate them immediately put them in water until your ready to use them. Then drain them through either a strainer, or a clean dish towel, or both. regardless of the way you choose to drain them make sure you squeeze or drain out as much of the liquid as possible before you ad them to your batter. If you do it this way it should help with your problem. Another tip for anyone who likes their potato pancakes texture to be a little more like a traditional pancake is to either add a little instant potato mix, or instant pancake mix into the batter. If you'd like you can even add a little of both. Just make sure to add just enough extra liquid so that the end result is just a little thicker than what a normal pancake batter would be. Don't get me wrong, this is a great recipe as written. It's because of it being such a great recipe that your able to tweak it just a little bit with very minor adjustments and still retain the very same flavor that the recipe was meant to have. Give this recipe a try, as it's a very good one, and hopefully these few little tips can also be of some help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
My daughter has been asking for potato pancakes for a while now, so we have tried a few different recipes. She liked this one by far the best. She doesn't like onions, so I did leave out the "real" onion and used a dried minced onion for flavor. I had a little trouble with them falling apart when I flipped them, but since I'm a novice potato pancake maker maybe it was my technique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States