Potato Pancakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2001
Great recipe. It was delicious but a little bit greasy and time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2004
Mmmm WONDERFUL! I used about 4 tablespoons of flour though b/c my potatoes were fairly large, and added some seasoned salt and nutmeg. Also added some chopped green pepper! YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
great recipe just like mom used to make. Try serving with sugar sprinkled on top. MMMMMMM!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
My first time making potato pancakes - this was a great and simple recipe. Cooked in bacon grease as well - the flavor was outstanding! I will, however, use my Kitchen Aid shredder to shred the potatoes and onion in the future. We had with sour cream and salt and was great also tried the maple syrup on them and they were really good. I really enjoy those recipes that seem to have more of an 'old time' feel to them - I can see someone making these while in the bush at an old mining camp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsjawshewa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
Oh so good! A true German potato pancake is "grated" as the recipe states, not shredded. Shredding produces something that's more like a hash brown. Make sure to not only drain the liquid, but to actually squeeze out the water in a kitchen towel. Time consuming, yes, but well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
400 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2001
I loved this recipe due to it's simplicity and nutritional value. Cooking spray worked well rather than oil to fry. I added herbs and used my food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
231 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2000
Absolutely delicious! I let the potatos get brown and crispy. I served with sour cream. We had a couple left over for the next day. I reheated them in the toaster oven for a while and they were still fabulous! Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
This recipe was easy to prepare and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2003
I make these all the time and have been for years. I now use non-fat cooking spray instead of oil. Also i use a mixture of low-fat sour cream and cottage cheese with lots of pepper for topping. Green onions are also really good sprinkled on top. These are the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
I have been looking for a traditional potatoe pancake recipe. They turned out great! I served them with a side of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States