Potato Pancakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Simply easy and delicious. Would definately make again. Great for Lent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Thanks for the great recipe! I followed it exactly and was very pleased. Sometimes the most simple ingredients yeild the best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This recipe has what I remember my grandparents using. Forget the fancy-schmancy recipes. This is authentic. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deedeeaz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I used this recipe for my first foray into making latkes myself, and the process and flavor certainly brought me back to cold Hanukah nights at my parent's house during my childhood. A warning: latkes are REALLY messy and time consuming, and if you don't set off the smoke alarm at least 2 times, you aren't doing it right. Of course, that is no fault of this recipe, which was great. It cannot be stressed enough that you have to drain water from the potatoes before frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I was looking for a recipe for potato pancakes like my mother made years ago. Several of the reviews said to "grate" the potatoes and not shred them but they didn't mention how to grate them. Use the smallest side of your box grater. The potatoes should be like a mush. Then grate the onions the same way using regular onions not green. Putting the grated potatoes in a sieve was a new one for me but sounds like good advice if you will also press down on the potatoes after they have dripped off on their own. My mother fried them in bacon grease so I guess she got more flavor in them that way. She cooked them in an iron skillet. I have never made them successfully like she did because I think I'm afraid to get the pan hot enough. The four pictures of this recipe all showed shredded potatoes. If I ever make them successfully, I will send you a picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I added a lot more flour but that was probably because I didn´t do a very good job getting all the liquid out of the potatoes. I also added a bit more salt, parsley and garlic powder. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
i have had potato pancakes before . i think this is the best recipe i ever tried
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chymekeeper

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I used leftover mashed potatoes to great effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breena Clarke
Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I added half pound of chopped/cooked/drained fresh bacon bits to potatoes before adding the egg. Also, all I had was some cream cheese instead of sour cream so put some of that on top! Both of my kids really enjoyed these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Reallllllly good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States