Potato Pancakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I was looking for a recipe for potato pancakes like my mother made years ago. Several of the reviews said to "grate" the potatoes and not shred them but they didn't mention how to grate them. Use the smallest side of your box grater. The potatoes should be like a mush. Then grate the onions the same way using regular onions not green. Putting the grated potatoes in a sieve was a new one for me but sounds like good advice if you will also press down on the potatoes after they have dripped off on their own. My mother fried them in bacon grease so I guess she got more flavor in them that way. She cooked them in an iron skillet. I have never made them successfully like she did because I think I'm afraid to get the pan hot enough. The four pictures of this recipe all showed shredded potatoes. If I ever make them successfully, I will send you a picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I added a lot more flour but that was probably because I didn´t do a very good job getting all the liquid out of the potatoes. I also added a bit more salt, parsley and garlic powder. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
i have had potato pancakes before . i think this is the best recipe i ever tried
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chymekeeper

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I used leftover mashed potatoes to great effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breena Clarke
Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I added half pound of chopped/cooked/drained fresh bacon bits to potatoes before adding the egg. Also, all I had was some cream cheese instead of sour cream so put some of that on top! Both of my kids really enjoyed these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Reallllllly good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I followed the recipe right up to the oil. I only used about 4 tablespoons of oil to start and just added a little bit more half way through. The first pancake I made was a little greasy, but I know if I had left it longer it would have been fine. My hubby who is German loved them soo much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandiebaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
These are great. But, get creative. Add grated zucchini, pepper, minced garlic, bean sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami Barker Sutter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Needed to make some changes to make the recipe right, but other than that this is a good basic recipe for this dish. I added spices and blended everything in a food processor. Otherwise you just end up with hash browns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I love this recipe!! I just sauté the onions in olive oil before adding them to the potatoes, then I lay out the potatoes in a baking dish and bake in the oven (325° for about 45 min.) Just GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States