Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
This was a super simple recipe and a definite keeper. The only change I made was to add a little garlic powder. I used my food processor to shred the potatoes and onion. I doubled the batch and made the pancakes small...ended up with about 40 pancakes which was perfect for the party I took them to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
This is the closest recipe on this site for authentic German Latke's like my mom makes. Sometimes we use breadcrumbs instead of flour or leave out the egg and flour altogether (they still hold together nicely from the starch in the potato). We sometimes will add spices (my mom likes chili powder or thyme while I prefer oregano, basil and parmesan cheese.) My latest, delicious addition was some shredded, leftover zucchini I had from making zucchini bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
Very tasty and extremly easy to make. instead of chopping onion I grated it with the potato. No biting into large obnoxious chunks of onion that way ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
These were excellent! I halved the recipe (since there are just two of us) and didn't add onions because I was too lazy to chop or grate them. For onion flavor, I added onion powder. Also, I grated the potatoes into a bowl of cold water to prevent discoloration then wrung them out in a dishtowel to remove moisture. They held together very well and were great served with sausage, biscuits, eggs & gravy. What a yummy breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Yum yum, I've been making these for years without flour. Making one large cake is easier, just pour it all in the frying pan. I use a bit more oil to aid the bottom to crisp. Cooking covered 15 to 20 minutes each side over medium heat also insures the potato in the middle is done. Upon flipping I add another tablespoon or two of oil to cook the other side crisp. It's manageable to flip if cut in quarters by using a firm spatula. My family does not like these unless they are crispy, crisping really ups the flavor and adds texture. Definately serve with a dollop of sour cream, I like the green onion garnish idea as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CC Adair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
We have always used leftover mashed potatoes for potato pancakes. This recipe is very much like ours. I have put corn in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Walnut Cove, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
At the restaurant where I work we put a poached egg on top of one of these with a cheese sauce on top! We do some with a slice of tomato too, very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Chelle*
Home Town: Middlebury, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
Altho the mixture needed to be seasoned, they were delicious. I also used my food processor which was a huge time saver. My potato ricer served as a great tool to squeeze out the excess water. Served them with applesauce and sour cream. Thanks Judy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
Not bad, needs more seasonings. Next time we will have to shred the onions and used 3 different types of onions. Been dreaming about making a filet mignon napolean with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
These are so easy, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xavasia

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States