Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Made these with a few left over Michigan Jumbo Potatoes. This was the first time I bought that type and found they were very bitter by themselves. However this recipe worked wonders! Very simple and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Eastpointe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
Maybe I did something wrong but mine came out pasty and bland, and didnt cook evenly. My husband begged me not to make it again, and that I butchered a traditional family food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJDellaRipa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: South Burlington, Vermont, USA
Living In: South Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
I thought it was alright (not great), but my husband really didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorlene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
At the restaurant where I work we put a poached egg on top of one of these with a cheese sauce on top! We do some with a slice of tomato too, very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Chelle*
Home Town: Middlebury, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
Altho the mixture needed to be seasoned, they were delicious. I also used my food processor which was a huge time saver. My potato ricer served as a great tool to squeeze out the excess water. Served them with applesauce and sour cream. Thanks Judy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
This was a super simple recipe and a definite keeper. The only change I made was to add a little garlic powder. I used my food processor to shred the potatoes and onion. I doubled the batch and made the pancakes small...ended up with about 40 pancakes which was perfect for the party I took them to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
These are so easy, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xavasia

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
A very good recipe. I like to grate the onion alternating with the potatoes and squeeze out any excess moisture to help them brown evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bohemia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
We have always used leftover mashed potatoes for potato pancakes. This recipe is very much like ours. I have put corn in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Walnut Cove, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
This is the closest recipe on this site for authentic German Latke's like my mom makes. Sometimes we use breadcrumbs instead of flour or leave out the egg and flour altogether (they still hold together nicely from the starch in the potato). We sometimes will add spices (my mom likes chili powder or thyme while I prefer oregano, basil and parmesan cheese.) My latest, delicious addition was some shredded, leftover zucchini I had from making zucchini bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States