Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Shred the potatoes extra fine. After the potatoes are shredded you dry them with a kitchen towel by putting them inside and twisting the towel. This will get rid of the excess water in them. Beat the eggs until they are frothy then add the potatoes that have been dried to the eggs mixing them well. .Then add 3 tablespoons of mayonnaise to the recipe (this is the secret my Mutter taught me). Skip the flour as you don't need it with this recipe. If the recipe seems to watery skim the excess water off the top with a paper towel. I don't add salt to the recipe instead I salt them as they fry. I also add a bit of paprika to the mix. If you're using this as a side dish then top with sour cream. As a desert don't add the onions and then top with applesauce (although I can remember eating the pancakes with applesauce along with pork dishes). wunderbare
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
My Polish boyfriend told his mother she should come over to our place for dinner and I'd make potato pancakes. Not only had I never cooked for his mother before - I'd never even had a potato pancake before! I found this recipe and it seemed easy enough. I conned him into buying me a food processor for the potatoes. Not having the food processor would have made a very easy, simple recipe into a very long, tedious one. This turned out great! I used sweet onions, so they added a nice flavor. His mother compared them to a local Polish restaurant's pancakes. She said they were as good, if not better. It could have just been lip service, but everyone went back for seconds (and thirds!) so I'm pretty sure they were impressed! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Beautiful appearance! Squeezing out all the water is definitely a reason to keep in shape, use those free weights! Good flavor but I added more onion than the recipe states. Absolutely need to have the oil really hot! As has been mentioned previously, make small pancakes, flatten them with the spatula. The recipe calls for just a few ingredients, and that contributes to the down-home appeal of these latkes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
First time I have made potato pancakes. They came out pretty well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I have been making latkes for 25 years and this recipe is the best one I've ever found. I read the reviews and only added one egg tonight and I had to use a few more tablespoons of oil in the cast iron skillet. I used the food processor as others suggested. After processing the potato and onion together, I put the mixture in a clean dishtowel and squeezed out the moisture before adding the egg and flour. Best latkes ever. Thank you for this deceptively simple and delicious recipe. If I would have septupled the recipe we still would have eaten them all in one sitting!! We had them with sour cream and applesauce. They were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Ann Pete

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
this was so easy. instead of the same old boring leftovers this was a nice change to turkey leftovers. even my 3 and8 year old grandchildren loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I changed it a little. We are not real big on onions, so I replaced it with dried minced onions. I added both italian flavored bread crumbs, and some flour to keep them together better. And I used a garlic and sea salt grinder. They came out great!! My husband had 3, and he said he never liked potato pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Absolutely simple,tasty and goooooood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Yum yum, I've been making these for years without flour. Making one large cake is easier, just pour it all in the frying pan. I use a bit more oil to aid the bottom to crisp. Cooking covered 15 to 20 minutes each side over medium heat also insures the potato in the middle is done. Upon flipping I add another tablespoon or two of oil to cook the other side crisp. It's manageable to flip if cut in quarters by using a firm spatula. My family does not like these unless they are crispy, crisping really ups the flavor and adds texture. Definately serve with a dollop of sour cream, I like the green onion garnish idea as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CC Adair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
My whole family loved these! I used left over mashed potatoes and added a little garlic powder and a little shreded chedar cheese. A very easy side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States