Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
i made these tonight. taste was fine, but can somebody help me why they dont stick together? and how do you know if its cooked? brown for both sides? because i think mine wasnt cooked in the middle. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I added garlic powder, yummy!!! 5+ stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I kind of used this as a base- I used left over potatoes from last night, small potatoes quartered, with olive oil, rosemarry, basil, garlic and salt cooked in tin over the bbq. I smased them, and added 2 eggs, a small onion finely chopped, grated cheese, and pancake mix, and water. man, they turned out really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashliediane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
These are so super yummy! I had to half the recipe because it was only 2 of us and it was still a little much…but boy are they yummy! I dont think ill ever go back to making regular hashbrowns. They were quick and easy. I did have the shredded potatoes sit in cold water for a bit so they would not turn orange or what have you. Will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laguayaca
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
These turned out excellent - I used the grater to grate the onions as well as the potatoes and the consistency was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Instead of shredded potatoes try with finely grated. That would be polish way. Very yummy! I eat it with sour cream or strawberry jam, but I heard that pople eat it with just sugar too. http://www.bestpolishrecipes.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=51&Itemid=72
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
This morning we decided we wanted some potato pancakes, as we already had some potatoes cooked, and didn't want to deal with a fussy recipe. And this was just the ticket. We didn't want to make as much as the recipe suggests, so we used two potatoes, a quarter of an onion, and added just a touch of half and half to the batter for texture. We cooked them on a stovetop griddle, and they came out absolutely perfect. We didn't have any applesauce, but we mixed a little candied ginger purée with some apricot-pineapple jam, and also used Trader Joe's Greek-style yogurt as topping. We also made a quick scramble with fresh, home-grown bell peppers, and enjoyed the perfect breakfast! Thanks so much for this wonderful and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
oh my goodness are these good. I shredded a onion in with the potato to avoid biting into a onion chunk. I also added some galic powder for a little extra kick. I recommend putting these on paper towels after they come off the frying pan because they do soak up oil. I paired mine with eggs and ketchup and was set to go. love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Loved these. The recipe reminds me of the potato pancakes a German friend used to make for me (this was before I realized that if I wanted something specific to eat, I could just make it for myself--yes, I was young and stupid). For the first course, I dot them with hot sauce. For dessert, slather them with applesauce. If I have the time, I'll soak the shredded potatoes in water, drain and give 'em a whirl in the salad spinner. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Independence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
I'm sorry to say but I didn't much care for this recipe. I might try it again and modify it a bit. I found that the potato soaked up so much of the oil that they didn't get very crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k861084

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States