Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I've made these pancakes for 37 years. My Polish husband loved them. I never measured anything I put in. I use the least amount of flour possible to help bind them. I, personally, never liked tasting the flour. This has always been a favorite Saturday or Sunday breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Hi, I am German and the correct way with the onion is to be shredded together with the potatoes. The flavor of the onion blends better this way. As a child I used plain sugar as topping and still love it this way today. Normally applesauce is used but also delicious topping them with smoked salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ute

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
These were too much like hash browns to be potato pancakes in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angipie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Excellent! I was craving potato pancakes and these hit the spot. Super easy to make as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
OK, I broke my "cardinal" rule of not modifying a recipe when I try it for the first time. I added only maybe 1/4 cup of finely chopped onion, omitted the flour, and also added 3 Tablespoons of mayo (as I saw in another recipe), and a 15 oz can of corn, well drained. I used the ready-made 20 oz package of shredded Hash brown potatoes from the refrigerator section (Simply Potatoes). Mixed everything and it was REALLY wet and loose and I was afraid that it would never hold together. I formed it into 4 large patties about 5 inches in diameter and one inch thick on a heavily buttered pizza pan that fits on my gas grill. Covered it tightly with foil and put on the grill over medium-high setting for 10 minutes, removed the foil and flipped them, then loosely re-covered with foil for 10 minutes. My fear that they wouldn't hold together was completely unfounded. I think the secret to having them stay together is to not try to do ANYTHING until the first side is well browned. They came out looking really great, but they were bland. I think I should have used a whole onion, as the recipe states, and I don't think the mayo did anything significant except add fat calories. I'm going to try this recipe again, only sticking more closely to the instructions as written. Very aesthetic results, just need to jazz up the flavor a bit for my taste. Thanks for a solid recipe, will definitely be going back to this one again, especially to do on the grill for Summer cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I made my potato pancakes much thicker than I imagine you're supposed to. I wish the recipe had specified how thick to make them, as mine were not done in the middle and I had to continue to bake them in the oven for 10 minutes at 400. I added paprika, onion salt and garlic powder to the mixture and I think these would have been rather bland had I not. The outside was very crispy, DB and myself both enjoyed them with ketchup! I will continue to make these but with modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
OMG this recipe is so delicious! I made it last week and my husband loved it! He even to go 3 pancakes to work. When I mixed all the ingredients together I also added 1 teaspoon of salt and pepper to season the potato pancake. I made mine how I would usually make pancakes, I sprayed a little oil on the skillet on medium high heat. Then I added a spoon full of potato pancakes. It came out crunchy and very tasty. Definitely my choice of breakfast. Will make more soon. Thanks for the recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Yum Yum Yummy! Reminds me of the German fried potatoes I grew up eating. I added a little garlic and onion powder and did 1/2 flour, 1/2 breadcrumbs and served with fried ham and bean soup. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandiroo1213

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Great recipe! I grated the potato and onion quite finely, added garlic, herb and garlic Epicure spice. Very easy and tasteful. Husband loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
i made these tonight. taste was fine, but can somebody help me why they dont stick together? and how do you know if its cooked? brown for both sides? because i think mine wasnt cooked in the middle. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States