Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
FINALLY! A true and authentic recipe of German potato pancakes! You have to shred the potatoes so that they turn into a thick liquid "dough"....I'd only use one egg and instead of flour, use some oats (they help to absorb the liquid and for crispier pancakes). Add a little nutmeg! Traditionally served with apple sauce! You find them around Christmas time at every Christmas market!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beadreamer247

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Braunschweig, Niedersachsen, Germany
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Good potato pancake recipe. Reminiscent of my mom's recipe handed down by her mother from Germany. Just need to get the ratio of potato to egg right, otherwise they end up like hash browns. Don't forget to make apple sauce for them. Found a great recipe for the sauce on here called, "Delicious Apple Sauce".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Excellent recipe, old fashioned just like Mom's. I would highly recommend this potato pancake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I enjoyed these but not equal to the amount of work. Not sure why, but the cooking didn't seem right. Too much oil? Too much time? edges burnt yet middle damp (at least when my husband made big ones)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiane

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Providence, Utah, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ed Denmat
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I grated the potatoes and onion -- btw, grating potatoes is WORK ;) An unappetizing batter sure makes a very delicious pancake! Cooked a little longer than suggested only because mine were pretty thick. We had them for breakfast; eggs over easy and a side of sour cream for the pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed Denmat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 5Foot3
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
We all enjoyed these! The kids with ketchup and my husband and I with a chili powdered sour cream dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Foot3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Loved these! Tasted like the ones I grew up with. I had to double the recipe to feed our family. I cheated and used pre-shredded rehydrated potatoes because it was easier, but I followed the measurements for it all and they were great. Thanks- my kiddos loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I made these tonight! Very easy to make, I thought I doubled the batch but had to add another two eggs and they cooked up just beautiful and actually stayed together! I used my food processor to shred the potatos and onions then I squeezed it all out by hand (really need to invest in some cheesecloth!) For a husband who is not too fond of potato pancakes, he said these were the best he has had!! Thank you for an awesome recipe! This is a definate keeper! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Photo by kelsey
Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I used olive oil through the whole thing and added one clove of garlic. Like any potato dish, adding salt to it adds so much more flavor. I added extra salt on top in the end and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Loved this recipe - simple, quick and yummy == what a way to go!! I added a bit of garlic powder and parsley flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jilly_pepper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Granite City, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States