Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
A very good recipe. I like to grate the onion alternating with the potatoes and squeeze out any excess moisture to help them brown evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bohemia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
We have always used leftover mashed potatoes for potato pancakes. This recipe is very much like ours. I have put corn in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Walnut Cove, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
This is the closest recipe on this site for authentic German Latke's like my mom makes. Sometimes we use breadcrumbs instead of flour or leave out the egg and flour altogether (they still hold together nicely from the starch in the potato). We sometimes will add spices (my mom likes chili powder or thyme while I prefer oregano, basil and parmesan cheese.) My latest, delicious addition was some shredded, leftover zucchini I had from making zucchini bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Sell

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
i added grated carrots and a tsp of salt and pepper each. the recipe worked out really well and was thoroughly enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
We enjoyed this recipe! It needed a little more salt and pepper and we also put our own touch on it and put in green onions, bacon bits, and cheddar cheese. They were fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
These are very nice. My hubby is good at making these but he adds a few more spices. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
These were excellent! I halved the recipe (since there are just two of us) and didn't add onions because I was too lazy to chop or grate them. For onion flavor, I added onion powder. Also, I grated the potatoes into a bowl of cold water to prevent discoloration then wrung them out in a dishtowel to remove moisture. They held together very well and were great served with sausage, biscuits, eggs & gravy. What a yummy breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2004
this authentic ukrainian dish is really good and easy to make.onoio definetely needs shredding.i added a lot of pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
I thought this was a good recipe that is reasonably easy to make. The pancakes taste pretty good, however, the potatoes I used were really watery, so the consistancy wasn't exactly what I was expecting and kind of hard to work with. Overall, I would most likely make these again, though my husband wasn't that impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
Not bad, needs more seasonings. Next time we will have to shred the onions and used 3 different types of onions. Been dreaming about making a filet mignon napolean with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States