Potato Leek Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
This soup was delicious and very simple to make. I used 1/2 cup of butter with half and half, and the soup was very rich and creamy. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
Finally, a recipe everyone liked! Including some trick-or-treaters that stopped by. I made a few changes and will make a few more. I used half and half and evaporated milk but it was still too rich for me. I added garlic but otherwise, no changes! KUDOS!! Thanks so much for sharing Julie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
This is the first leek & potato soup recipe I've made and I won't be looking for another one. Not only is this easy to make, it's delicious. I made my own chicken broth and reduced the fat by using a combination of Carnation 2% and regular milk. I had red potatoes on hand so that's what I used and I kept the skin on for added vitamins. To thicken it a bit, I added some shredded mozzarella after pouring it hot into bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
This soup was absolutely PERFECT as far as potato leek soups go. The only changes I made were using half butter, half margarine; and using evaporated milk instead of heavy cream. Anyway, it was still very rich and creamy and delicious. My 2 year old daughter also loved it, though my picky husband and 4 yr. old son didn't care for it. Too bad for them...it was great!! *Edit* 11 years after I first tried this recipe, I still make it on a regular basis. However, I now follow the recipe exactly as written, and it is rich, creamy, and delicious. My 3 kids (now 15, 13, and 10) think it tastes like mashed potatoes and gravy. In other words, YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIARE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carmichael, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
I used two med. size onions instead of the leeks. This was like my Mom used to make, easy & excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
This was a very tasty soup indeed. The best potato and leek soup I have tasted. Rave reviews from the family who say I must make it again.........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
I also used half cream and half evaporated milk, as well as half butter and half low fat margarine to try and make it at least a little lighter. The other thing I strongly recommend, depending on what type of soup you want to serve, is to puree it in a blender or a food processor. It was absolute velvet. It went over hugely as a soup course. I will definitely keep this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden City, New York, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
I lightened this up a lot by using only 12 cup of butter and one can of fat-free evaporated milk. I also used Klondike Rose potatoes (a red-skinned gold potato) and left the skin on to add a little color, texture and nutritional value. Even with the changes, it was excellent., I lightened this up a lot by using only 12 cup of butter and one can of fat-free evaporated milk. I also used Klondike Rose potatoes (a red-skinned gold potato) and left the skin on to add a little color, texture and nutritional value. Even with the changes, it was excellent., I lightened this up a lot by using only 12 cup of butter and one can of fat-free evaporated milk. I also used Klondike Rose potatoes (a red-skinned gold potato) and left the skin on to add a little color, texture and nutritional value. Even with the changes, it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
We always have oyster stew New Years Eve and I used this recipe for the base this year. I chopped up 2 pints of oysters with their liquor and added them to the soup. Served with crackers, it was a big hit with the revelers.Will do this again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
Oh my... this recipe was scary-good. My 6 y/ old son- who will normally only eat PB & J's, and chicken nuggets, inhaled this soup! He LOVED it! He even ate the leaks (despite the well known kindergartner law that says that green things are yucky unless covered in sugar and or chocolate) Recommendations: The only thing I would change about the recipe is perhaps to cut the butter down to 3/4 cup instead of a full cup. I loved the rich flavor the butter and cream gave, but there was a teensy weensy bit too much butter for hubby and my daughter's liking. Although, they too raved over the soup. (we had no leftovers!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 540) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States