Potato Leek Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I submitted this recipe several years ago, but I still make this all the time. I no longer use so much butter, I half it, and I use half and half instead of heavy cream. This is also great as a clam chowder, with a can of drained baby clams added to it. Still great the next day, great blended, and goes perfect with a good sourdough bread. Quick and easy, still perfect for my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
534 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
Fantastic recipe. I made the following changes: Used 5 cups of skin-on Red Potatoes, added 3 cloves of mashed garlic to the leeks, about 2 tsp of Cayenne and 1 tsp of onion powder. Also I substituted half and half for the heavy cream. After simmering, I used a hand blender to smooth it out. Very warm, flavorful and satisfying. Next time I'll reduce the butter to 3/4 cup and not salt the soup until the end. Between the butter and broth, it's plenty salty already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
324 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yasi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
This recipe was very helpful. I had to make some adjustments to the recipe as we are vegetarians, so veg stock instead of chicken and lots more leek and added garlic – just play around with it! For a healthier option, use pam to brown the leeks & garlic, and sub cream with fresh milk. Add herbs and spices you love to make it your dish, it’s super tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
This came out great. I only used a half stick of butter and I substituted the heavy cream with evaporated skim milk and you would never know the difference. I also used an immersion blender to puree everything after the potatoes were soft because I prefer a creamy potato soup instead of a chunky one (Although I did separate out some of the leeks first to leave them whole). I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissajean
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
Very delicious and simple. I used white pepper and substituted fat-free half and half for 1/2 of the heavy cream. I also pureed the soup after it cooled a little. I garnished it with gruyere cheese and Italian parsley. Update: I made again and decreased butter to 1/2 cup and used fat-free half&half. Also, garnished with crumbled bacon along with the gruyere cheese and parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissajean
Home Town: Alpine, California, USA
Living In: La Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
I served this in Italian Bread Bowls, and I also added ham chunks. Everyone raved about it, even my young grandkids went crazy for it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2003
Love this. I look for recipes that sound good, have high ratings, with as few ingredients as possible to make things easy. This is a great one and very tasty. Don't get hung up on needing Yukon Gold taters...new white are just as good. Try using half and half instead of heavy cream if you don't like things so rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
SO VERY GOOD! We used vegetable broth instead of chicken, added spinach and carrots. Next time we'll use less butter and try half and half instead. It's a flexible, delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
Eating this soup was a lot like drinking out of a grease trap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
Like others who tried this recipe, I reduced the butter, used 1/2 and 1/2 rather than cream and added celery. Deliciously comforting. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Choteau, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 544) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States