Potato Leek Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This is the first time I've had potato leek soup and we all loved it! I followed the advice of earlier reviews as to using only a half cup of butter and I used half and half instead of heavy cream, added the minced garlic and some onion powder. It was perfect. Oh yes, I also used my mixer to break down the potato chunks a little more. The kids loved it as much as the adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladylass

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I have made this recipe several times and everyone loves it. I followed other sugesstions and halved the butter and used half-n-half. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deiders

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Lake, California, USA
Living In: Yuba City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I thought this soup was very delicious. I always make the recipes exactly as the recipe states the first time, then I look at reviews and think about what changes I could make the next time. I would definitely half the butter, you definitely don't need that much and I think I will go ahead and try the half and half. Still, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Caledonia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Fantastic! A half a stick of butter was plenty, I thought. We absolutely loved this simple soup. It had so much flavor and we both had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Need to cut butter in half. Added ham. 1c heavy cream/1c low fat milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I don't typically comment on recipes either way, as I know there are many different styles of cooking and many different tastes. However, I feel strongly enough to comment on this one. It was absolutely terrible. Definitely use the recommendation of halving the butter, and add ham or bacon or ANYTHING else. I will not be making this again; there are plenty of other soup recipes out there that will not clog my arteries and disappoint my taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
One of my soup go-to's... my family requests that I make it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
My daughter and I made this wonderful soup. It was the first time we cooked with leeks, and we really enjoyed the experience. We served the soup with crumbled bacon, shredded cheese and parmesan croutons. My family LOVED it and asked that I KEEP the recipe. NO leftovers to taste test the next day. YUMMY, EASY, and GREAT for main course or served as a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I lightened this up after reading the other review... half of the butter and half'n half instead of heavy cream. Smooth it out with a hand blender and you have a super elegant soup course. The leek is so subtle but absolutely delicious. I would make this ALL the time if I had more leeks. Super Soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This is a good base recipe. I added roughly 1/2 cup of butter after reading some of the reviews and it was more than enough. I will try 1/3 cup next time. I had about 1 cup of half and half and used that plus skim milk instead of the heavy cream. I added green onion to the leeks mainly just to use them up before they spoiled; same goes for a sweet potato I used to replace one potato. I also added chili powder, half of a jalapeno and bacon. I blended the soup after it boiled as well. For next time, I won't add as much spice because it hid the leek flavor. The soup wasn't very creamy but I didn't expect it to be given the half and half and skim milk. The bacon added a lot to the soup and I would use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 547) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States