Potato Leek Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I put mine in the blender to make it a pure. It was creamy, thick and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XxlilaxX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
definitely use one stick of butter and use half and half instead of heavy cream. the first thing I did was cook two pieces of bacon in the pot. I can pull the bacon chopped it up to put in the soup later. the bacon grease at a lot of flavor to the soup. I also sprinkled a little bit of granulated garlic before I added the liquid. just a great soup on a cool winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicole79
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I made it tonight. But I used Idaho potatoes and half the butter. I also added a bit of garlic powder and cubed cut spiral honey ham that I had left over from a party. My favorite soup ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Followed advice and cut butter to 1/2 cup and used half and half instead of cream. Very quick and easy as well as tasty. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I do not normally change out the ingredients but I used this recipe as a base to make the soup. SO I can't rate the recipe above but I can say it was a helpful start and I appreciated how good it would be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cavendish, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy Washington
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I used the advice of others, adding garlic, omitted cornstarch and cooked it with a big hambone and chopped up ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Washington

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Hearty, flavorful soup -- and super easy to make. I used half the butter and substituted low-fat cream cheese for the heavy cream. I only had russet potatoes on hand, and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dkunze

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Really enjoyed this soup! We used half and half instead of heavy cream and did not put it in the blender. The first time we used leeks and the second time we just used onions - the leeks were definitely better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I've made this twice now and it is FANTASTIC. It's so easy and so filling. I did as others suggested. I added 4 cloves of crushed/coarse chopped garlic to the leeks. I only used 1/2 cup of butter and used 1 cup heavy cream and 1 cup half and half. When it's done I pureed it with a hand blender/immersion blender. I am a big black pepper fan so I am pretty liberal with that too. I also froze it in several containers and it freezes really well - comes out as delicious and smooth as when it's fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 538) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States