Potato Leek Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
This is an EXCELLENT flavourful soup. I also added carrots & celery chunks. When I make it again, I will definitely blend the leeks into a puree and add that to the soup. By only slicing the leeks it is like trying to eat spaghetti in soup with a spoon. Impossible and messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunnydeids

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This is a good recipe but too creamy for me. I prefer milk vs. cream and more leeks than originally stated. Good flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
never having used leek before, I threw away too much of it; stopped using after the white. LOL good soup tho, will make again PROPERLY TKS FOR THE RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Made this today and it is really yummy. I love dishes that only require a few ingredients and minimal prep to pull together. I also used just 1 stick (1/2 cup) of butter and used half n half instead of cream. Also added garlic towards the end of cooking the leeks - because I add garlic to everything! My family loves clams so now that I know this recipe is a keeper, can't wait to try it that way - as the original poster suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mizsarah77

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I made this soup last night I used 1/2 and 1/2 it was GREAT! Will def. Make it again it was a hit. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Lots of bang for your buck on this one. Simple and delicious. However, I did cut down the amount of butter and cream, added a bouquet garni of sage, thyme, rosemary, and bay leaf, Then sprinkled with bacon crumble as a garnish. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I made this for my family this evening, All I can say is WOW, everyone loved this so much it was recommended to the Holiday Menu. I also volunteer with the U.S.C.G. Auxiliary as an AuxFS (Auxiliary Food Service) Chef, Cannot wait to cook this for our troops. Mark-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Great recipe. I halved the butter and used 1 cup half/half cream and 1 cup skim milk. I also added 5 cloves garlic to the leeks, 1 cup shredded old cheddar and 6 slices crumbled bacon right before serving. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I loved this recipe, I loved how creamy it was!!!! I served it with mild sourdough bread. It was simple to make and the whole family loved it! I made the potatoes in bigger pieces than told for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mara Kapes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Liked this recipe. But only used enough butter to cook the leeks. Added 3 cloves of garlic, minced and a couple of pinches of red pepper flakes. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 513) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States