Potato Leek Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
My daughter and I made this wonderful soup. It was the first time we cooked with leeks, and we really enjoyed the experience. We served the soup with crumbled bacon, shredded cheese and parmesan croutons. My family LOVED it and asked that I KEEP the recipe. NO leftovers to taste test the next day. YUMMY, EASY, and GREAT for main course or served as a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I lightened this up after reading the other review... half of the butter and half'n half instead of heavy cream. Smooth it out with a hand blender and you have a super elegant soup course. The leek is so subtle but absolutely delicious. I would make this ALL the time if I had more leeks. Super Soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This is a good base recipe. I added roughly 1/2 cup of butter after reading some of the reviews and it was more than enough. I will try 1/3 cup next time. I had about 1 cup of half and half and used that plus skim milk instead of the heavy cream. I added green onion to the leeks mainly just to use them up before they spoiled; same goes for a sweet potato I used to replace one potato. I also added chili powder, half of a jalapeno and bacon. I blended the soup after it boiled as well. For next time, I won't add as much spice because it hid the leek flavor. The soup wasn't very creamy but I didn't expect it to be given the half and half and skim milk. The bacon added a lot to the soup and I would use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I love this recipe. Best for us with maybe 1/3 the butter, and as Julie suggested using the chicken broth with the butter to saute the leeks. I also add a good sized shallot, since this is a French one for me. And I am a self professed garlic addict so at least one clove has to go in. Also subbed the cream for 1 cup half and half and 1 cup whole milk. Still want to try it with vegetable broth. Also I add the milk/cream in near the very end. And I puree the leeks and potatoes. It goes fast here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Just great. My wife liked it a lot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Delicious, but we also halved the amount of butter and used half & half. Absolutely wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodlover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
We added some crumbled bacon, a bit of garlic powder and a splash of sherry. It was great!! You could substitute green onions or even regular onions if you don't have leeks. We also used half and half as we didn't have quite enough heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
This is an EXCELLENT flavourful soup. I also added carrots & celery chunks. When I make it again, I will definitely blend the leeks into a puree and add that to the soup. By only slicing the leeks it is like trying to eat spaghetti in soup with a spoon. Impossible and messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunnydeids

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This is a good recipe but too creamy for me. I prefer milk vs. cream and more leeks than originally stated. Good flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
never having used leek before, I threw away too much of it; stopped using after the white. LOL good soup tho, will make again PROPERLY TKS FOR THE RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 500) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States