Potato Leek Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Delicious, but we also halved the amount of butter and used half & half. Absolutely wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodlover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
We added some crumbled bacon, a bit of garlic powder and a splash of sherry. It was great!! You could substitute green onions or even regular onions if you don't have leeks. We also used half and half as we didn't have quite enough heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
This is an EXCELLENT flavourful soup. I also added carrots & celery chunks. When I make it again, I will definitely blend the leeks into a puree and add that to the soup. By only slicing the leeks it is like trying to eat spaghetti in soup with a spoon. Impossible and messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunnydeids

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This is a good recipe but too creamy for me. I prefer milk vs. cream and more leeks than originally stated. Good flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
never having used leek before, I threw away too much of it; stopped using after the white. LOL good soup tho, will make again PROPERLY TKS FOR THE RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Made this today and it is really yummy. I love dishes that only require a few ingredients and minimal prep to pull together. I also used just 1 stick (1/2 cup) of butter and used half n half instead of cream. Also added garlic towards the end of cooking the leeks - because I add garlic to everything! My family loves clams so now that I know this recipe is a keeper, can't wait to try it that way - as the original poster suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mizsarah77

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I made this soup last night I used 1/2 and 1/2 it was GREAT! Will def. Make it again it was a hit. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Lots of bang for your buck on this one. Simple and delicious. However, I did cut down the amount of butter and cream, added a bouquet garni of sage, thyme, rosemary, and bay leaf, Then sprinkled with bacon crumble as a garnish. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I made this for my family this evening, All I can say is WOW, everyone loved this so much it was recommended to the Holiday Menu. I also volunteer with the U.S.C.G. Auxiliary as an AuxFS (Auxiliary Food Service) Chef, Cannot wait to cook this for our troops. Mark-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Great recipe. I halved the butter and used 1 cup half/half cream and 1 cup skim milk. I also added 5 cloves garlic to the leeks, 1 cup shredded old cheddar and 6 slices crumbled bacon right before serving. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 495) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States