Potato Leek Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I make this whenever I need comfort food and it always does the trick. I do make a few changes though. I only use one (1) stick of butter and use whole milk instead of heavy creamy. Without these changes be prepared to nap after every bowl. Also, I like to take 4 cups out, blend it and return it to the pot for a more desired potato soup texture. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
This is a great recipe to follow, simple and few ingredients. Helpful to read comments also to see how other people tweak it to their tastes. I only use half the butter, and also half milk and half cream instead of all cream. I also increase the wet ingredients, and the potatoes. I use about a cup more broth and a cup extra milk with the recipes amount of cream split with milk/cream. I just sort of eyeball the potatoes. I've used regular russet potatoes if I don't have the gold on hand and it's fine. I use white pepper and a dash of nutmeg to season the leeks while they are cooking in butter. Yum! My kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Replaced cream with milk, added tablespoon garlic and parsley. Melted 3/4 cup cheddar in at end
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
It's wonderful! Try throwing a couple of pieces of bacon in there for fun...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joshua Copeland

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
This recipe is fabulous with the following changes in proportions: 3 T butter, 8 cups of the white and light green parts of leeks, 1.25# potatoes, and *most importantly* only 1 T Half & Half per serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Used 1/2 and 1/2 and less butter and it was great. Will try with Dill next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ECampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Lolo, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Good flavor but too much butter. I cut the butter in half and it was still too greasy for my taste. Next time I will use 1/4 cup of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Delicious! Used half of the suggested amount of butter and half & half in place of the cream. Also used garden vegetable broth in place of chicken because we are vegetarians. Perfect! Garnished with scallions and served with sourdough bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JC Cooks
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Delicious! I made the same adjustments as everyone else; 1/2 cup of butter, half and half instead of heavy cream. I didn't have enough potatoes so I used parsnips and it was just as good, just needed to sit a bit longer. I also added celery. Instead of seasoning with salt (butter and stock provide enough of that) I used just pepper and garlic powder. This a great basic recipe, definitely will keep and make again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This was the best potato soup ever. I didn't change a thing. Great cooking Julie. My husband just raved about this soup. And it was just delicious. Another winner. 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 548) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States