Potato Leek Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Loved it! We added 1 cup almond milk instead of cream to make it dairy free and it was delightful. =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I, too, used 1/2 the butter, 5 cups of spuds, & substituted Fat-Free Half & Half for the cream. The onion powder and white pepper were good ideas, as well. I found the flavor to be almost too delicate. I've heard the leek greens would be too strong to add to the soup. Has anyone tried to "steep" the greens in the broth to make it more flavorful? I'm open to suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Yum!! Used only 1 stick of butter as suggested, and found this recipe to be delicious. I also used a hand blender to puree soup. The whole family enjoyed it.............Thanks Julie : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Really Yummy but I even used half the butter and it still seemed like too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I altered mine slightly and it didn't need the cream (so less fat, right). I used about 8 leeks (chopped/sliced thin), about 5 cooked potatoes, and 48 oz of chicken broth. I cooked the leeks first in a little olive oil until soft then added the cooked and chopped potatoes. Once that cooked tighter for a about 5 minutes I added the chicken broth and let come to a boil. Next i used my immersion blender and pureed it. Add S/P and serve HOT. Really good and I never cooked with leek before I tried this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karyn Steele Blaney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Wonderful. I cut the butter in half. Substituted half n half for cream. Blended, then added 2 cans of whole clams. DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Loved this soup! Used all the butter suggested as well as celery and carrot. One bay leaf. Instead of cream, I used Carnation Evaporated milk and it gave it a wonderful flavour. Did not thicken this soup with the cornstarch. It was wonderful just as it was. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I put mine in the blender to make it a pure. It was creamy, thick and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XxlilaxX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
definitely use one stick of butter and use half and half instead of heavy cream. the first thing I did was cook two pieces of bacon in the pot. I can pull the bacon chopped it up to put in the soup later. the bacon grease at a lot of flavor to the soup. I also sprinkled a little bit of granulated garlic before I added the liquid. just a great soup on a cool winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicole79
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I made it tonight. But I used Idaho potatoes and half the butter. I also added a bit of garlic powder and cubed cut spiral honey ham that I had left over from a party. My favorite soup ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 515) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States