Potato Leek Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Made this tonight and it was so good, had the sourdough bread along with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Bowen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
So I was looking for some comfort food WITHOUT A TON OF GUILT. I made several modifications (so i can't truly rate the original recipe) but I absolutely loved the modified final product! -4 T. butter -2 leeks -4 cups redskin potatoes chopped -5 cups chicken broth (I used bouillon) -1 T. Corn startch -1/2 cup half and half -1 1/2 cups non-fat milk -salt and pepper to taste I only used 4 T. of butter in which I sautéed the leeks with the lid on (to keep them from drying out). This only took about 6 minutes on med/low heat. I added the broth and cornstarch as directed but used 4 cups of Redskin potatoes with the skins still on... (So good!). Be sure to salt at this point so the potatoes absorb the salt and therefore, some more flavor. I then boiled the broth and once the potatoes were soft, I mashed 1 1/2 cups of the potatoes and put them back into the soup to help thicken it. I then added 1/2 cup of half and half and 1 1/2 cup non-fat milk and simmered them for about 20 minutes (be sure not to boil after dairy is added). I even calculated the calorie and fat content and of the 10 cups produced, each cup is 162 calories and 7.4 grams of fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
So good! I made without the salt (since my butter and chicken stock were salted), no cornstarch, and used 2% condensed milk in place of cream. As per some other reviewers, I also added a little pizzazz: + dash of hot sauce, 1 clove chopped garlic, 1/2 tsp thyme, and pureed the soup once done. Also made a topping of: tomato sauce, roasted peppers, sundried tomato - pureed together, added on the finished soup as a decorative, tasty swirl on top, along with a bit of crumbled bacon. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trolt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Very, very good. Used much less butter (maybe 1.5 T), and used flour instead of cornstarch (just because I don't have any at the moment). Stirred it into the leeks before adding the broth. Used milk, but less. So delicious and creamy, even without being pureed. Will make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Delicious and easy! I threw some bacon bits in mine and topped it with sharp cheddar for a bit more saltiness. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I love this soup! The only things I do different from the recipe are add carrots, mild cheddar, and I make extra potatoes (2 cups) and blend them with about a cup of the chicken broth to thicken up the soup. I just made a fresh batch and I can't wait to devour it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole Marie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Such a great recipe! It's super creamy and delicious, and is a perfect lunch to take to work with some pumpernickel or sourdough. I made a few adjustments after trying it out the first time. I took advice from others: halved the amount of butter and substituted half&half for the cream. I also added about two sprigs of rosemary and two cloves of garlic roughly chopped. Also, after the potatoes were nice and tender, I blended the finished soup that it was creamy instead of chunky. A wonderful outcome that I'll certainly be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I had never made soup before and was surprised how good this was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
This recipe was delicious. I used half the butter and half and half instead of cream. I used some kind of giant white onions (looked just like a leek, only a lot cheaper)instead of leeks. Added 3 cloves of chopped garlic during sauté. I also blended half of the soup to make it a little thicker and smooth. Very easy to make. Everyone, including kids, loved it. If you are using chicken broth, don't add any more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Nice! I used coconut milk because I am diary intolerant, added more leeks, cut down significantly on the butter as did other reviewers, and added parsley during the puréeing process. A great dairy free creamy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 525) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States