Potato Leek Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
We all make adjustments to fit our taste. For us I puree the soup after its been allowed to cool. My family likes it moderately pureed. On so doing you can cut way back on the cream making it tasty and healthy. I just increase the broth to adjust liquid. Use full milk and only half as is indicated here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Super easy and comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I seasoned it with Old Bay and added some cubed mahi mahi and a can of corn for a delicious fish chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNNKYBUTT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Canaveral, Florida, USA
Living In: Lima, Lima, Peru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
This soup is very rich-- but VERY tasty! I substitute half and half for cream, and reduce the butter. To step it up, I add diced ham and scallions just before serving. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Delicious, quick recipe. Reduced butter to 1/2 cup and used milk rather than cream only because of the fat content...can only imagine what this soup would have been with full butter and cream .. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I added two diced bulbs of kohlrabi I had sitting around, which adding a lovely broccoli-esque favor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I make this whenever I need comfort food and it always does the trick. I do make a few changes though. I only use one (1) stick of butter and use whole milk instead of heavy creamy. Without these changes be prepared to nap after every bowl. Also, I like to take 4 cups out, blend it and return it to the pot for a more desired potato soup texture. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
This is a great recipe to follow, simple and few ingredients. Helpful to read comments also to see how other people tweak it to their tastes. I only use half the butter, and also half milk and half cream instead of all cream. I also increase the wet ingredients, and the potatoes. I use about a cup more broth and a cup extra milk with the recipes amount of cream split with milk/cream. I just sort of eyeball the potatoes. I've used regular russet potatoes if I don't have the gold on hand and it's fine. I use white pepper and a dash of nutmeg to season the leeks while they are cooking in butter. Yum! My kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Replaced cream with milk, added tablespoon garlic and parsley. Melted 3/4 cup cheddar in at end
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
It's wonderful! Try throwing a couple of pieces of bacon in there for fun...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joshua Copeland

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 544) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States