Potato Leek Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Really good! Could easily use 10% or 18% cream instead of 35% whipping cream to lighten it up a bit if you want to lower calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This was dee-lish! I only used one stick of butter, 1 cup of heavy whipping cream , 1 cup of half and half and russet potatoes because that was all I had. I poured half the soup in a blender and it's consistency was very creamy. mmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coffeegaga
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
A good recipe but I expect potato leek w/ out chunks. I guess I need to puree it afterward. It was tasty and I followed exactly. Didn't seem to greasy to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Very simple for when I feel lazy. I usually add some garlic since I love it. At the end of cooking I take out some potatoes and leek and using an immersion blender (aka stick blender) blend the soup then I add the veggies i took out and pulse a few times. I think that the taste with heavy cream is not very good so i always use half and half i would give it 3 1/2 stars if possible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Prepared as written this made a nice thick and very rich soup. Just the way I love it. Very easy and wonderful recipe. Next time though, I may halve the butter and use half-and-half for the cream. Or not. Hard to improve on this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Used three leeks - almost all of them except the very ends (green end). Used yukon golds, 1 cup evaporated milk, 1 cup heavy whipping cream. Added a lot of salt. It was flavorful and bland enough for my kids. Think next time I'll add fresh garlic. Pretty good overall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Otankis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I love this recipe.... I've been making it for a few years recently I've added lump crab meat or andouille sausage & shrimp to vary it and it has come out so nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Ive never had leeks before. I bought some because I found this recipe and wanted to try it because I love soup. I can eat it everyday in winter. This soup is delicious. I didnt use heavy cream bcuz I didn't have any and I dont need the extra calories.. I used evaporated milk instead. I loved it. Leeks are wonderful. Im goin to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Love this recipe. I make it at least 2 times a month in the winter. Most of the time I leave out the cream and cornstarch and just put 1/2 of the soup in blender to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
It was very greasy with the 1 cup butter. The taste itself was okay... simple flavors, not much to it. If I made adjustments like a lot of other reviewers, it would pretty much be a new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 544) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States