Potato Leek Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
This was so easy to make and tasted fantastic this will be a favorite during those cold winter month's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
pretty good, very strong flavour but good! added a clove of garlic, blended it up and added ham. Might make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
This was a fantastic recipe. I was cooking for two different friends (one who is a vegetarian and one who just underwent facial surgery), so I made some variations. I substituted vegetable broth (not stock) for chicken broth, and like other reviewers, I halved the butter and the cream. I didn't have cornstarch, but didn't need it, since I was planning to puree it. I lightly pureed it with an immersion blender, but left chunks of potato for the veggie friend, and pureed it to a liquid soup for the surgery friend. I can't wait to give it to them both! This one's a keeper! I'm on a bit of a diet, so when I make this for myself, I'll probably use milk and less butter as well. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
I love the flavors of leeks with potatoes. I've made this recipe a few times and really like it more as sloppy potatoes than soup. I use half the butter, make sure the leeks are really tender before adding other ingredients, double the potatoes, and a few other adjustments. For convenience, I used a can of Cream of Celery soup and some water instead of the broth and cream. I added some red pepper for a little heat because that appeals to my family. Most important, I used a dutch oven and put the heat on low once I added the potatoes (Yukon or Red, I left the skins on) and soup so that it wouldn't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
I used red bliss potatoes, half heavy cream and half half and half, and used an immersion blender before adding the potatoes and this was delicious! It was much thicker in the following days so it might be better to make it ahead of time but it was still delicious! Be sure to clean the leeks very thoroughly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I made this soup tonight (with my own little tweeks) and it was AMAZING. My almost 2 year old and VERY picky husband LOVED it. OK... so as for my tweeks, I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 rendered lard instead of 1 cup butter. I didnt add cornstarch. I subbed the heavy cream for 1 cup coconut milk (the beverage kind cause its all we had) and like 1/2 cup sour cream. I also added 2 slices of bacon (cut up into small pieces) when sauteing the leeks in the butter and lard. AMAZINGNESS... the perfect rainy day/feeling yucky soup. I am eating a second bowl as a snack right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
So rich! I almost thought it was going to be too rich, but the taste never overwhelmed, only impressed. Definately a make today eat tomorrow kind of recipe. I want to add bacon next time for a bit more texture. Love the leeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Kisabeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Made as directed but added a little crushed garlic with leeks, and then added cooked bacon (6 slices). Used white pepper and was very gentle with the salt. Great recipe, it is going in the binder as a favorite! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
I skipped all the dairy products except the butter and the soup was still excellent. Tried a variation with left over ham from my freezer and it was good, but better without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bparalston
Reviewed: May 15, 2012
i added ground italian sausage and used red potatoes instead of yukon golds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bparalston

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 525) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States