Potato Leek Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe for those cold winter nights. I substituted evaporated milk for the cream and you can't taste much difference. Also added crumbled bacon. After soup finished cooking and cooled somewhat I used an immersion blender to make it seem creamier. So good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This is easy, easy, easy and sooooo delicious. I shared this recipe with my neighbors and they are still raving. But it got an absolutely RAVE review from my husband, and he NEVER raves. I made no alterations, except used 1/2 margarine and 1/2 butter to raise the cook temp a little without burning. I also made this in a deep dish skillet, instead of a saucepan...it cooked faster and more evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Fantastic soup, my 18 mth old even loves it. Must be served with fresh bread though. Very easy to make, this one goes in the books for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
wow this is very yummy and simple. I didn't add cream though since I am avoiding dairy at the moment! Will make this recipe again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Delicious! I didn't peel my potatoes because I like the added color/texture. I added garlic to the leeks, and only used half the butter and cream called for. It is plenty rich with only half! I also partially blended it all up with an immersion blender leaving some potato chucks still whole. Definitely not a bland potato leek soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Awesome, awesome soup. I, like others, halved the butter and substituted 1/2 & 1/2 for the cream. I also added a can of clams! So good! It makes the best leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by betsyanne

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kingston, Washington, USA
Living In: Evans, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
LOVE THIS RECIPE!!!!! I use skim milk and its awesome!!!! Family raves over this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This is a fabulous soup. I followed the directions completely and we all loved it. Very tasty and easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Delicious! Creamy, rich soup and easy to make. Like other reviewers, I used an immersion blender to puree most of the potatoes. Fabulous - thank you for the recipe! A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I use half the butter and half n half like others have suggested. Someone also suggested shredded Guyere cheese and real crushed bacon as garnishes. Brilliant! My whole family loves this soup and it's now a Christmas day tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 489) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States